>Do you solemnly swear…?

13 Oct

>

I used to do this questionaire a couple of times a year – usually on my birthday and then at the close/beginning of the year. It’s fun to go back and see which answers have changed and which have remained the same. This year I was busy kickin’ Death in the crotch and tryin’ to chase her off around the time of my birthday and totally forgot all about until a (extremely) dedicated reader was reading my blogs from beginning to end and came across it from last year.  I thought it would be fun to dust it off and give it another whirl.
These are taken from Inside the Actor’s Studio with James Lipton, which he poses to each of his guests at the end of an interview. Lipton always gives credit for this list to French talk show host Bernard Pivot, who hosted Apostrophes from 1975–1990 and Bouillon de Culture from 1990–2001; he often mentions that the list originally came from French novelist Marcel Proust (1871–1922). Proust did not actually create the questionnaire that frequently has his name attached, though he did famously answer two versions of it (once at age 13, and a second time at age 20), and thereby gave the lists a certain notoriety. Their original author is unknown.
But anyway, below are the questions – and my answers. I’ve included a link list thing at the bottom so that everyone can participate and share their own answers.

The questions are:

  • 1. What is your favorite word?
  • 2. What is your least favorite word?
  • 3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
  • 4. What turns you off?
  • 5. What is your favorite curse word?
  • 6. What sound or noise do you love?
  • 7. What sound or noise do you hate?
  • 8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  • 9. What profession would you not like to do?
  • 10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

And my answers:

1. What is your favorite word?
I love words. I eat them like candy, so it’s hard to choose just one.  I do seem rather found of Kumquat though. And Twat. And Supercaligofuckyourself.
2. What is your least favorite word?
No. I despise being told No – no matter the circumstance.  Can’t is another one. Can’t is responsible for so many failures, when in reality all it was was a Won’t.
3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
This is one I really need to rediscover.  It seems lately not much of anything turns me on anymore.
4. What turns you off?
Negativity. Unnecessary complaining. Apathy.
5. What is your favorite curse word?
Like this one isn’t obvious if you read my blog:  Fuck Fuck Fuck FUCK
6. What sound or noise do you love?
Laughter.  I really get a bang out of a bawdy, obnoxious, head thrown back laugh. There’s nothing better.
7. What sound or noise do you hate?
A Harlie Fart at 4 a.m. – but at least you get a warning.  It’s kind of like an Air Raid Siren.
8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Mortician – or doing something with animals – I am NOT much of a (living) people person.
9. What profession would you not like to do?
Parent – talk about a thankless job.
10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?
Damn, Rabbit! Did you take a left at Albuquerque???

Now it’s your turn. Answer the questions in a post on your own blog with a link back here to MicaelChadwick.com, then leave your name and the URL to your post in the box below so we can all revel and waller in (and laugh and point at) one another’s answers. With almost 100 of y’all lurkin’ around out there and any/everyone else who wants to play, this could be a lot of fun!  C’mon now!!! Don’t poop at the party!

25 Responses to “>Do you solemnly swear…?”

  1. Simple Dude October 13, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    >That's awesome.. seen the show many times, but have never tried answering the questions myself – but I did it!SDhttp://simpledudecomplexworld.blogspot.com

  2. Georgina Dollface October 13, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    >Supercaligofuckyourself! I love it! I'm impressed by the provenance of these questions. I thought it was just a blogging meme..who knew it had such deep intellectual roots. – G

  3. Nubian October 13, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    >So yeah, if I could, um, figure out how to do this, I would uh participate. Remember I did lock myself out of my blog yesterday?!

  4. becca October 13, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    >i love when James Lipton ask these questions they are way more orginal then asking the guest what his favorite color is. so now i play the game.http://becca-mycrazystuff.blogspot.com/

  5. Stefanus October 13, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    >Hey…. first time commenter here (though not a first time reader ;-)Love the questions….. makes you think about yourself. Anyway I've posted my answers at http://stirlingchronicles.blogspot.com/2010/10/truth.html

  6. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 13, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    >Thanks for playin' y'all! Great answers!

  7. Toni October 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    >I loved this! I posted my response.http://tonitigress.blogspot.com

  8. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 13, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    >Awesome, Toni! Thanks!

  9. Laugh. It's Life in Progress October 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    >Ok Rabbit… I took the bait! Here you go :o)http://witchletsride2.blogspot.com

  10. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 13, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    >Yeah Buddy!

  11. Raven of the Green Mountains October 13, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    >I just posted my answers. 🙂

  12. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    >Raven, my love, you never disappoint. (Tried to comment on your post but it said no!)

  13. Lynne H. October 13, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    >Look for my Actor's Studio question/answers on Thursday's blog (10/14/2010)I like this.. great idea!!!

  14. Marlene October 13, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    >ROFL!!! TWAT is my favorite word ever!!!!My daughter threw some dang fruit in the grocery cart that I don't eat. What the heck was it? Crap I don't know. Don't know a papaya from a pomegranate……so I called it a freaking kumquat. She thought it was hysterical. I thought it looked gross.

  15. Jhon Baker October 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    >Okay, I'll play.

  16. Madam Z October 13, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    >It's 11:32 pm and I should be asleep, but I drank way too much coffee and answering this meme is just what I need to entertain myself until the caffeine wears off. You and I share the same "favorite curse word" and the same disliked sound. Okay, I'm going to my blog to try to do this now. I may have to drink some more coffee before I'm done, though.

  17. Raven of the Green Mountains October 14, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    >Oops. Damn. I know you hate the word no. I changed it, so it will say yes from now on.

  18. Nariane October 14, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    >Read!Did! (done?)Postedeth as you commandeth Rabbit!http://signsoftheseason.blogspot.com/2010/10/rabbit-made-me-do-this.html

  19. mice_aliling October 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    >My entry's been in my box and I couldn't think of an answer for number 2. 😛 Still no answer after posting it.

  20. StephanieC October 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    >I just posted tonight about my fear of divorce etc., so I'm going to let that simmer with my meager following until Sunday (17/10/10).But you know what my conundrum is? (Well, among functioning in every day life…)My answers will not be as insightful or good as yours. Simpledude had some great stuff too. I've yet to check out the other posters because I don't want to 'cheat' from their responses.Wish me luck. And I love Harlie Farts.

  21. StephanieC October 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    >Okay, she’s a ready!

  22. George Wells October 17, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    >Enjoying your blog, and a lot of the answers to the questions.

  23. Alessandra October 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    >Ok, so this was fun. I'm seriously considering following your blog now….

  24. Nubian October 18, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    >Posted a while ago, just took me all this time to figure out as to how to link this! Sometimes my own dumbness even amazes me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another year… | Micael Chadwick - October 13, 2011

    […] My answers from last year are here.  I would love to read yours. If you do them, please do leave a link to your own post in the comments. Rate this: Pass it OnLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Daily Ground by Rabbit. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Comments are closed.