Another year…

13 Oct

I do these about once a year, and go back and see where I was and how far I am come. It’s always interesting to see what you were thinking. Been a long year. These are the questions. I encourage you to steal them and answer them for yourself – even if you don’t post them, tuck them away and revisit yourself next year. The trick is to not read your previous answers before answering the new ones.

1. What is your favorite word?
2. What is your least favorite word?
3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
4. What turns you off?
5. What is your favorite curse word?
6. What sound or noise do you love?
7. What sound or noise do you hate?
8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
9. What profession would you not like to do?
10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

These are taken from Inside the Actor’s Studio with James Lipton, which he poses to each of his guests at the end of an interview. Lipton always gives credit for this list to French talk show host Bernard Pivot, who hosted Apostrophes from 1975–1990 and Bouillon de Culture from 1990–2001; he often mentions that the list originally came from French novelist Marcel Proust (1871–1922). Proust did not actually create the questionnaire that frequently has his name attached, though he did famously answer two versions of it (once at age 13, and a second time at age 20), and thereby gave the lists a certain notoriety. Their original author is unknown.

This year I say:

1. What is your favorite word?
I tend to have many. This year, I am needing hope. So perhaps that is mine. Hope. Hopeful. “It’s hopeful.”

2. What is your least favorite word?
Can’t. As in “I can’t.” You can. But will you?

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
Positive energy. Creation. Art in all forms.

4. What turns you off?
Negativity for the sake of negativity. Let it go. Move on.

5. What is your favorite curse word?
Undoubtedly and without a question: FUCK. It’s so universal.

6. What sound or noise do you love?
Life. The cars moving outside. The birds. The dogs barking. People talking. Music. Just…life.

7. What sound or noise do you hate?
Silverware clanging together. It’s worse than nails on a chalkboard for me.

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Healer. Helper. Motivator. I would love to be able to make a difference.

9. What profession would you not like to do?
This one always stumps me. I think I could learn something from anything. I certainly, though, would no longer relish manual labor. I don’t think my narrow ass could manage it these days.

10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?
What’s next?

My answers from last year are here.  I would love to read yours. If you do them, please do leave a link to your own post in the comments.

11 Responses to “Another year…”

  1. Jotter Girl October 13, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    Fantastic answers….one of the many reasons why I love you.

  2. jhon baker October 13, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I played again – just click on my name – I think.

  3. Jotter Girl October 13, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I’ve taken a visit to “Inside the Rabbit’s Studio”

    http://jottergirl.com/2011/10/13/inside-the-rabbits-studio/

  4. Mynx October 13, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Love this idea so I had a go as well. Bit of a long winded post I’m afraid but I left the best bit to last.
    http://just-tish.blogspot.com/2011/10/before-he-reads-sooky-stuff.html

  5. Pearson Report October 14, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Hi Micael – this was a great post and your answers, both now and last year are very insightful. It’s amazing how our thinking changes from year to year, isn’t it?

    I decided to answer the question too, and tried to answer them without too much hesitation, as if someone was asking me them and I didn’t have the luxury of taking my time to answer – a rather challenging task.

    Thank you for sharing this – I will be making a copy of my answers and tucking them away until next year.

    Here is my link: Rabbit’s Studio Q & A

    Hugs, Jenny
    PEARSON REPORT

  6. Jo-Anne October 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Cool answers Hope is a great word not my favourite but if you want to know what mine is go over to my blog tomorrow and see as I wll do this post then. Oh in case you didn’t already know this is my first time here I was sent by Al over at http://alpenwasser.blogspot.com

    • Rabbit October 16, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Welcome, Jo-Anne. Looking forward to your post!

  7. Eva Gallant October 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Just stopped by at Al Penwasser’s suggestion. Interesting quiz. We share a fondness for the same curse word. I don’t use it in my blog much, though, ’cause I don’t often curse in my blog. Real Life is another story altogether!

  8. Jacqueline October 17, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Great idea! I’m going to have to come up with a list of questions. Really like the first question. It would be interesting to see my favorite words through the years.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. another year, another quiz | the platitudes of willful resemblance - October 13, 2011

    […] This is stolen from a friend of mine, Micael. He does this about once a year and last year I did as well. It is apparently that time again. His link -if you don’t follow him, you should. […]

  2. Inside the Rabbit’s studio. | Jotter Girl - October 13, 2011

    […] C on October 13, 2011 My friend Rabbit did a post today titled, Another Year,  where he answered the final questions that James Lipton asks his guests on Inside the […]

Comments are closed.