“I’ll miss you… Always.”

31 Oct

From the original Boys on Film.

2 Responses to ““I’ll miss you… Always.””

  1. lolamouse October 31, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Wow. Still processing this one. Don’t know whether to feel sad for him or to want to smack his narcissism out of him. At least he has his other self to go back to. Older women feel this way all the time and must live with knowing that they are looked upon as used goods, no longer perfect, etc. Thus, the fanatic rise in plastic surgery. Thoughts?

    • Micael Chadwick November 1, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      I guess my narcissistic self didn’t see it that way. This very much reminded me of when I “retired” and put Dazey away for good. In the gay community, I think it tends to be just as harsh, if not more so, that the straight one when it comes to aging. You’re considered “old” at 30. By 40, you are a “troll.” In the drag world, double those years. Sure there are those that make a prolific success out of it well past what is usually the prime – look at RuPaul – but for the most part, once you hit a certain age there is a younger, prettier, hotter, hungrier model chewing your heel off. Gay men are not allowed to grow old like straight men are. Drag queens even less. I think that was what the film maker was speaking to (as this is from a gay man’s standpoint). I don’t disagree with you. But I think it was less about narcissism and more about empathy for me.

Comments are closed.