Not really a review…

18 Oct

“So in America when the sun goes down and I sit on the old broken-down river pier watching the long, long skies over New Jersey and sense all that raw land that rolls in one unbelievable huge bulge over to the West Coast, and all that road going, all the people dreaming in the immensity of it, and in Iowa I know by now the children must be crying in the land where they let the children cry, and tonight the stars’ll be out, and don’t you know that God is Pooh Bear? the evening star must be drooping and shedding her sparkler dims on the prairie, which is just before the coming of complete night that blesses the earth, darkens all rivers, cups the peaks and folds the final shore in, and nobody, nobody knows what’s going to happen to anybody besides the forlorn rags of growing old, I think of Dean Moriarty, I even think of Old Dean Moriarty the father we never found, I think of Dean Moriarty.”

Just finished watching the On the Road movie, and almost wish I hadn’t. Not because it wasn’t done well. I think, for what it is, it was a well placed act of love. You can tell. It was an ambitious endeavour that I don’t know could ever begin to live up to the book. And I will say that Hedlund as Dean and Sturridge as Carlo were spot on – they had Neal and Allen down perfectly, in my opinion. Hedlund had the frantic, excitable, desperate, joyous sadness that was Neal. Sturridge went beyond just mimicry in his portrait of Ginsberg.  His performance, for me, was tremendous – and stole the entire film.

I wish I hadn’t, though, because my heart always breaks for Dean. Every. Time. I am in tears long before the scene on the street at the end of the book – and seeing it finally acted out was almost too much to bear.

It’s worth a watch, though. It’s not the book. Nothing ever will be. I expected that. And I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Seeing the story “in person” is like visiting old friends. Even if those old friends are long since passed.

“We turned at a dozen paces, for love is a duel, and looked at each other for the last time.”

