It’s Gonna be a Bumpy Ride

5 Apr

I recently posted an old photograph from when I was 17 years old on Facebook.  I captioned it “What would I tell myself?” (or something to that effect).  While I was being flip, it really got me to thinking…  What would I tell myself?  If anything?

Would have have some sage advice?  Don’t do this.  Do that.

And, really, I don’t know that I would tell myself anything…  Other than simply hold on tight.  I don’t know that I would steer myself in any other direction than the one I took.  It was all part of the path that led me to where I am now.  Who is to say that had I taken some alternate route that the final outcome would have been any better?  Or worse, for that matter…

Sure, I would have liked to have maybe weathered fairer weather.  Perhaps it would have been nice to not fight like hell for the last 30 plus years.  But who would I be today?  And would that be someone I would even want to be?  We don’t really have a choice in what life hurls at us.  We just have to make the best of it – and be the best we can possibly be at the time.

So my advice to my 17 year old self?  To borrow from John Cougar Mellencamp, “hold on to 16 as long as you can,” because 16 was really the end of my own childhood.  But beyond that, remember this moment. All of them.  Be as kind as life allows.  Make it work.  It all comes out the way it should in the end.  And the end is never in sight.

Not your own anyway.

3 Responses to “It’s Gonna be a Bumpy Ride”

  1. Jo-Anne April 5, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I love the song “Hold On” by Willson Phillips and this made me think what would I tell a 17yr old me well I think I would say life gets better, not easier but better and you will find happiness because as 17 I didn’t think I would ever find a man get married have a family and I have all of those things…………..

  2. lolamouse April 5, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    I think you turned out pretty great.

  3. Mynx April 5, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    When you posted this on FB it had me asking the same question. And I pretty much came up with the same answer you did. If I had chosen differently, taken a different path, I would be a different person in a different place and who can say it would be any better than where I am now.
    Plenty of what ifs I guess but I am happy. Life isnt perfect but it is my life and I am living it the best I can

Comments are closed.