“No one I think is in my tree…” (in progress)

14 Jan

These will be up for sale soon.

8 Responses to ““No one I think is in my tree…” (in progress)”

  1. lolamouse January 12, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    What is that white stuff? Looks like shaving cream!

    • Micael Chadwick January 12, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      DAP paintable silicon bathroom caulk. I’m too cheap to buy actual molding paste or medium. So I use caulk. Most of my textures are done that way. The dead bird painting was done with caulk and ground coffee. You can mix it with acrylic paint or once it’s dry, you can just paint over it.

  2. zendictive January 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    what happen to your ‘like’ button?

    • Micael Chadwick January 12, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      I have no idea! Lemme go find it…

  3. Denise January 14, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Home Depot has the best art supplies ever! I use many of their household products for art. Great glue tip for clear bathroom/kitchen caulk.

    • Micael Chadwick January 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      It’s the best! I get it in the tubes – less than $3 each – as opposed to the $10+ for gel medium. And you can do just about all the same things with it. I use it for textures and building up – pasting – can tint it with heavy body acrylic – and I recently discovered it works perfect for image transfers as well! Can. Not. Beat. It!

  4. Pauline A. Black January 17, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    Thanks Michael for the insight into your method for doing these, I appreciate it. How on earth did you do the music sheet transfer? It so effective I must say.

    • Micael Chadwick January 17, 2012 at 4:12 am #

      It’s just glued down with good ol’ fashioned Elmer’s glue. I painted it onto the canvas (painted black) with a wet sponge brush, stuck the paper down, then painted over it with more glue. The paper was stained before hand with watercolour and then just wadded up and ripped apart. Really simple really!

Comments are closed.