’12 Steps

8 Jan

2011: I lived by the phrase “Let it Be,” and while that served me well in many aspects, I think it did harm in others.  I let a lot slide.  I excused a lot that needn’t be excused or tolerated.  Toward the end of the year, the taste of toxicity was really beginning to burn my tongue.  It started to, as I am infamous for saying, work my tits.

I made a conscious effort to examine what was surrounding me and started to clean house.  I removed a lot of the negative energies – both online and off.  I let the bridges burn and the flood waters wash them away to rot and regenerate elsewhere.  I said good-bye to a lot of Crazymakers (to borrow the term from Julia Cameron) and decided to keep what was healthy for my own spirit.

Not try to play Coast Guard to those who enjoy drowning.

So as much as ’11 was about letting it be, ’12 will be about letting it go.

Letting go of toxic people.

Letting go of drama.

etting go of hard winters and failed crops.

Letting go.

Letting it be bred complacency – which does no one any good.

I’m too young and too old for that.  I know better.

It’s time to stop saying “okay” when it’s not…

It is time to let IN the new and the positive and the healthy and grow from that.

And wave good-bye, shake the dust, let go of the rest…

And start my (20)12 Steppin’!

8 Responses to “’12 Steps”

  1. Jotter Girl January 8, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    I particularly like “I am too young and too old for that” I kind of feel like I am in that same place right now. I wish us both a grand 2012 where we let go and as you say, shake the dust. Power to ourselves. xo

  2. Joe Nichols January 8, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    I made a similar decision this year. I absolutely agree. It’s far too easy for complacency to set in, and we forget that we hold the reins with which we can guide our own lives. And sometimes letting go of things and people we don’t need in our lives can be the most liberating of things.

    Well said. Enjoyed your post.

    • Micael Chadwick January 8, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks, Joe! I hope your journey this year is a good one.

  3. Glenn Meche January 8, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    What the hell was it about 2011? It was toxic for me, as well, and for so many of the people I care about. My new mantra? Fuck it!

    • Micael Chadwick January 8, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      I may have to steal that one, G. I think I like Fuck It even better than Let Go!

  4. glutenvygirl January 8, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    “Not trying to play Coast Guard to those who enjoy drowning.”
    Love it, MC!

    • Micael Chadwick January 8, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      Thanks, B. That’s a problem I always seem to make for myself. Trying to save people when they’d much rather be a martyr than work to better themselves.

Comments are closed.