Looking forward

28 Dec

I sat down last night to do my yearly Top Ten posts of the year like I have done every year since I began blogging almost 13 years ago now.

Then, in looking back over my year, I realized I don’t want to look back. It’s been a hard mother fucking year. Sure, there were some highlights – Jhon’s visit, getting published, finding old friends, the poetry book and art coming together – but I really didn’t chronicle those things here on this blog. I kept those recorded moments to myself elsewhere, some of which I don’t know that I even mentioned here, much less blogged about.

So I deleted the post.

I decided to look ahead to the days to come rather than looking back on those that have passed. Sometimes, often times, reflections just show us the ugly things we’d rather not see in the mirror anyway. I haven’t any resolutions for the coming year, either – it just about to all my resolve to live this one. Now that I am standing on shaky legs I’d rather use that energy to learn to walk again in 2012 and let the chips fall where there may. Hopefully not in front of me so that I slip on them and bust my ass (again), but hey, I bounce if that is to be the case.

So it’s a year of breaking traditions, and perhaps starting new ones.  Leaving old habits behind and moving forward with a faith that maybe, just maybe, tomorrow will be a better day.

We can always hope, right?

4 Responses to “Looking forward”

  1. lolamouse December 28, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    I hope this is a better year for you Micael. You have shown more strength and courage than any human being should be asked to show in ten lifetimes. You’re probably tired of hearing it, but you inspire me constantly and remind me to do better when I start feeling sorry for myself. Love you sweetie.

    • Micael Chadwick December 28, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      I never tire of it, and I thank you. You inspire me, as well. More than you know. Thanks for walking with me this past year.

  2. Jo-Anne December 28, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Nothing wrong with looking to the future in fact it is a great thing to do, sometimes the year that was wasn’t that great and not something we should dwell on………………..what we need to do is remember that we are awesome people just the way we are…………….

  3. Mynx December 29, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    It WILL be a better year. We are going to keep the positive happening. And if you slip on your ass you will have your friends helping pick you up again.
    I dont make resolutions either. And I prefer to look back at my achievements rather than the bad stuff.

    Like Lola, you inspire me, you are my teacher, my mentor. You have given me so much to be thankful for this year. Yes you can be a cranky bugger, but I know that you have a huge heart that just wont give up.

    With love, my friend, today and for a long time into the future.

Comments are closed.