Holidaze

22 Dec

Had my final doctor visit of the year yesterday to review my latest bloodwork and see where we were at.  Counts were great.  My platelet counts are up to 83 – from the single digits that landed me in the hospital earlier in the year.  CD4s (T-Cells) are up to 329.  Are on a slow rise, but the rise is the important part.  My viral load is down from 1.3 million to 62.  I was, initially, disappointed because I was hoping for a Zero count – BUT learned yesterday that because of the HIV, I will never actually reach Zero.  Healthy status for one with the virus is 48 – so I am damned near there.  So I am pleased.  The nightmare medication is doing what it is intended to do.  The side effects I am living with now are now my normal, but it seems the worst of it is behind me.  I can live with that.  So chronic pain, arthritis, and moodiness aside, the prognosis is a positive one.  Positive enough, in fact, that I needn’t return for another check-up until April.  So happy holidays.

Bad news is that a dear, dear friend of mine is going through it this holiday season.  His father has had some immediate heart problems and minor surgery.  Pulled through okay, but within 24 hours of that scare, his mother-in-law has now fallen ill again with some ongoing medical problems and is now in the hospital.  It hurts my heart that he and his family are suffering so at this time of year – and to top it all off, his birthday is Sunday, to boot.  So please, y’all, while you are celebrating the season, please keep him and his family in your hearts and minds and send them all the love and positive energy you can spare.  I wish I could do more – or anything, in fact – but I being here and so far away I feel so utterly helpless.  I have faith that everything will be okay, but it’s still trying times for them, and this saddens me.

I hope each of you have a truly wonderful holiday in whatever capacity you celebrate.  This always feels like such a curious holiday to me, but I love the spirit of it all none the less.  I hope you do, as well, and it brings you many joys and all the much needed love you can handle.

Until next year.

-Rabbit

8 Responses to “Holidaze”

  1. mkdesignhaus December 22, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Happy Holidays, my friend Rabbit. I am SOOOOOOOOO happy that good news is there for you and your health. I will keep your friend and his family in my thoughts and send positive energy their way. Happy Birthday to him, but I know it will likely be a rough time. *GIANT HUGS*

  2. Jotter Girl December 22, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    My 50th Birthday wish came true.

  3. lolamouse December 22, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    That’s the best news I’ve heard in a very long time! I’m so happy for you!!! I’ve been sending you my prayers and wishes and good thoughts every day (have you been feeling the warm fuzzies?) and maybe some of that positive energy made it down to you to you in Texas! Or maybe it’s a total freaking coincidence or maybe it’s good science and good medicine. I’ve got the biggest grin on my face right now (which is amazing considering my monster in law will be arriving in about 3 hours!)

    I am sorry about your friend and will keep him in my thoughts. Believe me, I know the feeling of helplessness when you are far away from someone you care about.

    • Rabbit December 22, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      The energy DID, in fact, make it here. And I am so grateful. It’s friends like you that have kept me going when all I wanted to do was throw my hands up and jump. So thank you.

      (And I don’t believe in coincidence, so it HAD to have been your healing fuzz!!!)

  4. jhon baker December 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Thank you so much M, I am weeping and laughing.

  5. pat tillett December 23, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Great news!
    I’m very happy to hear you are doing well.
    Here’s to a happy and healthy year end to us all…

  6. absence of alternatives December 23, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I will be thinking of you and your friend and his family. It makes me so happy to know you, happier than ever, that despite of whatever pain you are going through, you still think of others. And is that a Santa hat, or are you happy to see me? ^_^

    Merry Christmas and happy new year my dear dear friend. xxoo

  7. Antares December 24, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Micael, truly happy at your great news. It’s not perfect, but good enough.;)

    Wish you and those you care about a healthy, happy holiday and new year.

Comments are closed.