Frayed Knots and Last Writes

3 Nov

I sailed to my death
but failed to die

a small thing, really
blown fuse
Christmas light
yet the whole tree
goes dark

I need to
say good-bye
dry the paint
and tie the
frayed knots

but all ready
too dead
for last rights
or
writes

[It should be noted that the line “I sailed to my death but failed to die” is a direct and blatant rip off of one of Jhon Z. Baker‘s yet to be published poems. It has haunted me since I first read it. I couldn’t resist. It is – as we blog – becoming a painting as well.]

5 Responses to “Frayed Knots and Last Writes”

  1. jhon baker November 3, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I love it. I hate it. I love it all the same.
    As an aside, I love what you’ve done with that line.

  2. Jotter Girl November 3, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Jhon said it best. Love it. Hate it. Perfect.

  3. jhon baker November 3, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    You didn’t have to do that. Thank you.

  4. Mynx November 4, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Love this poem. Cant wait to see the painting it inspires.

  5. Nikki Rules November 4, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Failures like these can keep on happening! Today as I celebrate my husband’s birthday, I will also celebrate your life.

Comments are closed.