Blessed.

23 Oct

A friend of mine took his family tonight to see Blue Man Group tonight.  When he returned I received this message:

blue man group was awesome and I have to tell you – At the end of the show they announced that they were taking donations for AIDS research at the exit – I asked [Son, who is (I want to say) 6 years old (or so]] if he wanted to give (he was the only one with cash) – and as he said no [Mom] leaned over to him and simply said – the money helps to find a cure for the disease that people like Micael has – he asked – Micael from Texas? – I said yes and he took out all his money (21 dollars) and put it in the donation box. I was so proud of him I wept. He didn’t give that money for AIDS research – he gave that money to help find a cure for you.

These are the friends I have.  I go through these bad days.  I hate everything.  I don’t want to go on.  And then something like this happens.  I am so blessed beyond words with the people I have in my life.  I wish I could give back to all of you just some vague modicum of what you give me.  I just don’t know how.

This is so humbling.  So precious.  I don’t know that I have ever been so moved.

Hug someone for me.  And thank you.  Thank you to my friend for raising such an amazing kid.  Thank you to his son for…  everything.  Thank you to all of you for being the beacons of light that you are in my world and being who you are.

I am blessed.  So blessed.

9 Responses to “Blessed.”

  1. Jo-Anne October 24, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    What a wonderful story I am one who donates money regularely to AIDS research I am lucky that I do not know anyone who has been stricken by AIDS but you never know……….

  2. Mynx October 24, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    Those of us who have come to know you are also so very blessed. You bring a smile to my face every time we connect. You give so much of yourself without even realising it and very often make my day so much brighter, taking me away from the mundane.
    Much love to you, my fellow art dork.

  3. mel October 24, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    ah, the blessing works both ways. you’ve lit up and blown apart and sewn back together my world in the most incredible ways…..

    {it seems he’s growing up to be very much his father’s son….}

    much love xoxoxox

  4. Jotter Girl October 24, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Amazing story and yet simply beautiful. Parents who set the example will most certainly produce empathetic children with gigantic hearts just like this one. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. lolamouse October 24, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    That kid gets it. Whatever the parents have done, they’ve done it right. We’re blessed for knowing you as well.

  6. pat tillett October 25, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Hey Micael! What a great thing that happened in that family. What a kid!
    Hope you are doing well…

  7. jane October 26, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Big, huge, gargantuan blessings indeed! You add color to my little universe more than you know. I so appreciate your words and images and kindness. Every now and then you email me and your words seem to reach me as if you knew I was in the middle of a shit ass day and needed to make my heart smile a little.

  8. Nicole October 26, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    amazing..you son is raising a child who recognizes how special you are and who is willing to help another unselfishly. You are a beacon of light to many with the art that you share every day…thank you for sharing this story…

  9. Deb October 30, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    One simple act from a babe that spoke volumes 🙂 You are indeed loved and blessed Micael..stay strong…

Comments are closed.