Effigy

17 Oct

dropped eves

and obligatory mournings

wear him down

faster than the virus

 

Catholic recovery

a pleasing heart

bind him

to the bored

and the healing water

drip drip drip drip drips…

 

wall; paper

shreds

exposed brick

and favorite acts

in matching luggage

 

© 2011 | M. Chadwick

4 Responses to “Effigy”

  1. zendictive October 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I admit, I had a hard time grasping this poems content, but then that was why I kept going back and re-reading and re-reading till it seeped like the dripping water (grin)

  2. Jotter Girl October 17, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    You are truly gifted in the poetry department. I love this although I am not quite sure what the last stanza means. Consider me your curious friend who wants to learn what matching luggage represents.

    Jealous that you know how to use semi colons and commas.

  3. lolamouse October 18, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Your poems always make me think. I’ve read and re-read this one at least a dozen times since yesterday and am still finding new meanings. I, too, must admit to being somewhat puzzled by the third stanza but I’m still trying…

  4. Jo-Anne October 19, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Interesting thought provoking and I can say honestly that I liked it………..

Comments are closed.