Being versus Seeing

30 Sep

Angel was never the one I wanted to be. I wanted to be Roger, leaving one great song. Marc recording it all down. Mimi entertaining the crowd. Maureen fighting the lost cause. But I can’t tell you how many times and times and times again, I heard, “Oh my gosh, you remind me so much of Angel.”

I guess, maybe, I was too busy being what everyone else was seeing.  Funny how life works that way.

6 Responses to “Being versus Seeing”

  1. Jotter Girl September 30, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Beautiful, truly, really, rawly. xo

  2. lolamouse September 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Angel had a way of bringing people together. So do you. She was also selfless and giving but tough as nails when need be. And funny as hell. Angel brought out the best in other people. I think that’s what people see in you too. I’d take it as a compliment. But you are a shitweasel for posting the Reprise and making me cry.

  3. jhon baker October 1, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    I never wanted to see this movie but tonight I watched it with K. I cried hard throughout the second act. a terrible wonderful movie I’ll likely never watch again.

  4. Mynx October 1, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    when I read this post this morning, I had no idea what you meant. I had never seen the movie or the live musical but this afternoon I watched it for the first time.
    Now I know who Angel is and all I want to say is you do remind me of her. She connected with people, she had a sense of fun and the absurd. There are aspects of the oher characters that I also see in you. I think many of us would like to be as outgoing as Maureen or Mimi.
    I agree with Lolamouse, being compared to Angel is a compliment. And like Angel, you are very much loved.

  5. possum October 1, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Beautiful…just beautiful.

  6. Rene October 1, 2011 at 10:24 am #

Comments are closed.