A View

13 Aug

Dare to meet the keeper, the one who holds the key

Remember every part of the picture show for free

Expect the unexpected, live a little on the edge

And when you think you’re ready, take the final pledge

Many hidden secrets tell the story well

Someday soon you too may know a life outside your cell

Someone wrote this back in my high school days (I think.  I may have written it myself. I really don’t recall now.).  I carried it on a typed scrap of paper for the longest time – from one coast to the other.  It has always stayed with me far beyond that now disintegrated page.

The hopes echoed are still the same some 20 years later.  I think my struggle now, however, is dealing with the knowledge that I won’t know that life outside my cell every again.  This is it, folks.

Fortunately, I think a part of me knew – on some level – that I would not be one long for this world; so I smashed in as many broken pieces as I possible could.  I’ve done a lot.  A LOT in my days.  I lived a life.

And that life has brought me here.  Good.  Bad.  Indifferent.

I am here.

We fill our heads with safety nets.  The fishes die…  And no one cries anymore.

6 Responses to “A View”

  1. jotter girl August 13, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I love you.

    • Rabbit August 13, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      Thank you. I love you back.

  2. jhon baker August 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Great post and insight – I enjoy seeing your room and some of my favorite painting of all time hung against a white wall that you must look at everyday upon waking and drifting into sleep.

  3. lolamouse August 13, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Sending you a big hug. Your mind is freer than most people’s ever could be, so you’re less in a cell (other than a literal sense, which sucks). I love you sweetie and don’t go making me cry again.

  4. Mynx August 14, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    I love the words and seeing your space. I am so thankful you came into my life.
    Hugs for you

  5. artsygirl52Jane August 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I’m so glad that you’re here making your beautiful mark on the world.

Comments are closed.