A first…

25 Jul

I am not one to review movies here.  In fact, I don’t know that I have ever done a movie review on any of my blogs.  Not in earnest, anyway.  But they says there’s a first time for everything.

Blue Valentine blew me away.  I had heard chatter of it, and Ryan Gosling usually does a damn good job.  This is, by and large, his best.  This is everyone involved’s best really.  It’s a story of a young couple trying to make it – and coming to pieces in the process.  It’s gritty.  It’s raw. It’s funny.  It’s infuriating.  It’s utterly charming – and heartbreakingly real.  I was not really familiar with Michelle Williams other than her Dawson’s Creek days, so I have never really paid her much nevermind or how ya doin’ – after this picture, though, I damn sure will.

It speaks to getting to know someone and giddy new beginnings, then travels back and forth in time to those places that we all know exist when the novelty wears off.  It speaks to where we go without ever meaning to…  Of a love that makes our heart swell still even after we’ve gone so far into the dark we don’t even know how to reach out anymore.

In short – an amazing film.  I highly, highly recommend it.  Stock up on tissues, though.  And lock the kids in the closet.  But watch it.

3 Responses to “A first…”

  1. jhon baker July 25, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    When I hear ” blue valentine I can only think of Tom Waits.

    • Rabbit July 26, 2011 at 5:59 am #

      That song is what the picture was named after.

  2. Lyndsey July 26, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    I was very impressed with this movie as well. The little girl, Frankie, was adorable!

Comments are closed.