Remembering

12 Jul

This end up better than I anicipated.  The photos don’t do it justice, but the cut out and the frame about a good inch or more off the wall.  The bag actually dances.  It’s attached on fishing line and catches even the slightest breeze.  Beyond pleased.

12 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. jhon baker July 12, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I can’t look at this enough, I love the wall in that it looks less like a painting and more like a brick wall – What are the dimensions?

  2. Micael 'Rabbit' Chadwick July 12, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Had to measure it – it’s a 16×20 stretched canvas on 1.5 inch deep frame. It feels like wall, too. It’s not flat. I got the canvas from someone who had a print done that messed up so she had cut the hole out to send back to the printer. I literally spackled it back together – then while that part was wet, glooped on tons of heavy body white acrylic and drug a knife through it all to create the bricks. So there’s actually relief in all the mortar lines. Then it was just the greyish layer for the mortar and I went back in and painted the bricks in last and did a gunky black wash with a wet bandanna over the top of it all. The bag is a real cut up grocery bag I just made to fit.

    (Sorry you asked?)

  3. Pam July 12, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    This is so cool! Really looks like brick. Love this.

  4. Mynx July 13, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    any chance of a video so we can see the bag dance?

    • jotter girl July 13, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      Great idea Mynx – I wanna see that too!

  5. Annette G July 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Oh wow that wall is fabulous, totally terrific piece of art, Happy PPF, Annette x

  6. Sheri July 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Haaa! I thought it was real bricks too!!! HAPPY PPF!

  7. lazyhawk July 15, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Great job on the bricks, it would be fun seeing the bag dance.

  8. Micael 'Rabbit' Chadwick July 16, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    There’s now a (crappy) animation here.

    Will try to get an actual video later today, but it at least gives you an idea of the energy of the piece.

  9. anne July 16, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Really cool! Great job!

  10. EVA July 16, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Very cool piece! And there is movement too? Wonderful!

  11. Kristin Dudish July 16, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    A fascinating painting – I enjoyed reading about your process (and watching the animation). I love the texture – I want to run my hand across it

Comments are closed.