Blessings and Burnings

31 May
This morning, I woke up.  In my own room.  With Winston at my side and all my crap around me.  I still smell like smoke.  The house smells like smoke.  The house, however, doesn’t smell nearly as much like smoke as the ones down the way.  Where did they wake up?  They have no bed, now  – no crap to surround them.  No simple comforts like my noisy as all hell fan and Winston’s annoyance because I flop around too much.  I just can’t wrap my head around it.
I touched on this on FB last night, and what really strikes me is yesterday was one of my good days.  I usually am unable to do much more than lay around – and almost always in my PJs.  I don’t usually get around unless we are going somewhere.  For whatever reason yesterday I was not only around, I was dressed – jeans, sneakers, TEETH even.  And I was mobile.  I was up and about.  I didn’t think twice about trying to help.  Carry water.  Hand out rags.  Grab a hose and start soaking the neighbors’ place – and our own there toward the end of the ordeal.  Most days I do well to be out of bed for any extended period of time.  Yesterday it came from somewhere.
I was so blessed to be able.  Even in such a small capacity.  I was able to do something.  And I am so grateful.

I don’t understand tragedies like these. I don’t know that I buy that there’s a reason bullshit.  I can’t fathom the reason for 9 people now being homeless.  Homes and lives lost.  I just can’t find the reasoning.  Fuck.  That.

Anyway – Red Cross is helping out here locally.  I have a friend up in Illinois that has offered to send clothes.  If anyone would like to help, please let me know.  I figure they could use gift cards for groceries or Walmart (maybe for new clothes and strollers and car seats?).  I don’t know.  But let me know if you would like to help. No one is open yet for me to call around, but in another 45 minutes they should be.
If you have ideas, let me know as well.  There’s just got to be something we can do.
8 Responses to “Blessings and Burnings”

  1. Lolamouse May 31, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Do you know ages of the kids who lost their homes and number of boys/girls? That might help with the clothing issue. What grocery stores are in your area?

  2. Lovkyně May 31, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    that gift card idea is an excellent one. i've been broke as shit for a while, but can usually still be found giving 5 or 10 dollars to some worthy cause. little bits add up, right? where can i send it?

  3. MicaelChadwick.com May 31, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    There's six kids between the three homes – all under pre-school age. The older gentleman next door also lost EVERYTHING. He'd lived at this place for around 30 years – and wasn't even able to go back in for his watch or hearing aids.

    As far as supermarkets, all we have (in Waco)here really is HEB and Walmart – nothing really local though. We don't have a place here other than a little Mom and Pop place. We do have a Dollar General though.

    If you want to just send it here, Lo, I will get it to them. Have some folks sending clothes and household things that way. I had to just dump it at or direct everyone to Red Cross and these specific families not receive it.

    Any other ideas are more than welcome.

  4. G.D. May 31, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Wow, such a huge loss. I can't even imagine what it would be like to lose your home like that. A whole town in Northern Alberta was almost entirely wiped out by a fire. Thank goodness for the Red Cross. It seems like they have been kept busy all around the world these days – one thing after another.
    Like you, I sometimes have a hard time with the “it happens for a reason” mantra. Sometimes things are just random and tragic and there is no reason for the horrible things that happen. – G

  5. The Empress May 31, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    What a tragedy. So sad for all those that lost their homes and belongings. However, I am not suprised at all that you are jumping right in to help those less fortunate. You really and truly are an angel Rabbit. Love and blessings to you and a big batch of good mojo for the fire victims.

  6. Lolamouse May 31, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Micael,
    Much as I hate that Walmart is everywhere, I guess sometimes that's good. We have several Walmart gift cards that have been sitting around from my daughter's birthday that she said she would give. I'd also like to put together a little something for the preschoolers. Should I send it to you (I need your address again) or is this too much trouble for you? If so, let me know whom to call or where to send it. Bless you for thinking of other people (again). You're such a sweetie.

  7. Raven of the Green Mountains May 31, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Hey hon,
    When I can I will send a couple of Walmart cards. I have your addy. Disasters have a way of making the little annoying things that happen to us seem pretty fucking trivial. You are blessed Rabbit. 🙂

  8. MicaelChadwick.com June 1, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    No trouble at all. You can send it here and I will take care of it. Have some sending clothes and the like as well.

    Will email you my address.

    And thank you muches – to all of you.

Comments are closed.