Just a Note

22 May

I’ve been doing some soul searching the last several days, which accounts for the lack of manic blog posts and art you almost were able to get accustomed to there for a while.  My mojo seems to have either died or taken an extended hiatus.  I am really feel like I am beginning to lose my creative spirit.  While I enjoy sharing with all of you, I will not be taking any more request for art pieces or prints or the sale of anything.  Art for me is my escape.  My outlet.  My soul.  When it starts to become a requirement, it kills it for me.  It’s like my web design – or this blog, even.  When it becomes something I MUST do, the magic is gone.

I am beginning to get a glimpse of why most of the greats went batshit.  As a kid, you study your favorites and think how great it would be to be recognized and rich and famous.  The reality of it is, Vincent was only a painter for nine years – and sold only one painting in his own lifetime.  And, well, we all know how that one ended.  I need to find some way to separate the two, and right now I am just not there.  I want to be an artist because I am – not because someone wants something from me, even if (or especially if?) it’s for monetary gain.

If my art spirit goes the way of this blog or Magic Gumbo and I begin to hate it, it will be the end of me.

So enjoy the pieces.  Enjoy the show.  Comment away.  But I am not for sale.  Please don’t ask.
I will honor all prior obligations, so if you are expecting something from me, continue to expect it – but bear with me.  With the chaos that is my life, and my illness, I have no guaranteed time lines at this point.  I just don’t know.  I will get to it when I get to it.
And thank you, thank you, thank you for all the feedback – good, bad, and whathefuckwise.  I really do truly appreciate it.
Now, shut up and scribble!
[Comments for this post are disabled.]
