In verse

14 May

I had posted these at Beyond the Burrow at some point before the world stopped spinning because of the Blogout.  Haven’t been writing as much lately, but I dig these two.  There are several more, just not been up to posting them yet.

sometimes it crumbles
Katrina soaked rot
in swimming piles
of plaster
betraying
every molded brick
black with fester
each holding
the other up
beyond circumstance
believable
to tourist
in bliss

Chaparral Park – Lovington, NM

haunted
by the trees
of Chaparral
gone grey
and barren
and I wonder
what you see
as you watch me
dying
am I as faded
as I feel?
leaves falling
onto cracked earth?
or do you
recall me now
in the full bloom
when we fed
the ducks?

©2011 by Micael Chadwick
All Rights Reserved

8 Responses to “In verse”

  1. David Allen Waters May 14, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I aspire to write like this…brilliant my friend.

  2. The Absence of Alternatives May 14, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I love this one a lot!

    By the way, I adore your rabbit in brush painting.

  3. Mustang Sally May 14, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I can see why you like them. Chaparral in particular yanks me right out of my world and places me in yours. It's gonna haunt me, I can tell. Powerful pieces.

  4. Lolamouse May 14, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Both brilliant and beautiful. I just finished a Katrina inspired poem myself, although yours encompasses so much more. I still want a book of your poetry. I guess I'll have to wait until the graphic novel is done, though!

  5. Cheeseboy May 14, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    This is superb. Someday I wish to write this well. (Likely when I am dead and have better tutors.)

  6. nene May 15, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Wonderful pieces! They take me outside myself. I travel with them to transcendent places with time chasing me now that I've gathered more years than are before me. Thank you.

  7. Mynx May 16, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    Love the 2nd one. Hauntingly beautiful and perhaps we all wonder these very things..

  8. Jane May 18, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Beautiful as always.

Comments are closed.