>Proof POZitive

7 May

>

I’ve been doodling all day – as you can see from the prolific wad of mess I have posted today.  I got an idea stuck in my head for a(nother) comic book.  I thought what if HIV was an actual entity that came for you?
In many ways it is and it does.  These little scribbles today are really just getting ideas down.  Seeing how it works.  Seeing IF it works.  It really seems to be going over the heads of a LOT of people, but those people wouldn’t be my market anyway…  So no biggie.  I want to do it old school style.  Strong black ink with red being the only color.  Think of the greats like It Rhymes with Lust inked by Ray Osrin.  That was really what started it all for me, anyway, so it would be a homage of sorts – and a way of leaving my legacy.
The only color image will be the cover – and for that I am using my Taste the Rainbow painting.  It seems right.
So stay tuned for the next (real) installment of actual art for it – not just these scribbles like today.
Should be an interesting journey.

Feedback appreciated.  I may not agree, but I do appreciate it.  Fire away.

4 Responses to “>Proof POZitive”

  1. colenic May 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    >It is an interesting concept and your drawings are very powerful- seductive, sad, menacing. I am intrigued to see how the idea develops.

  2. Mynx May 7, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    >Absolutely going right over my head, but you knew it would anyway. The time difference and other stuff means I am really only looking at it now and even though I dont find it relatable like other work of yours, I find it interesting, compelling and powerful. I look forward to seeing more as always. Through your art I am learning.. Thankyou

  3. mel May 8, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    >why isn't is 'real' or 'actual' art? i'm utterly blown away by this…it's fucking brilliant.i think you've hit on a fab concept – of HIV as an entity….i'm seeing you portray it in a sort of retro boogeyman way (or something like that — hard to articulate, i'm coffee-less) — i'm not familiar with comic book styles so….lolgah – i'll have to write you back when i can string together a coherent sentence….brilliant, fucking brilliant.xo

  4. David Allen Waters May 8, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    >Like I said b4 it's a powerful series and I think you are spot on with the concept…I am interested to see where it goes….and I love the above piece, very edgy, right up my alley 😉

Comments are closed.