>Sultry vs Sorrowful?

21 Apr

>The other day, David commented on the Umbrella Girl, saying he thought it was sultry.  I was completely flabbergasted.  I couldn’t find sultry in it anywhere.  I guess, perhaps, because I know her story, all I could see was the sadness.  That’s what I love so much about art.  The same picture can be a thousand different things to a thousand different people.

Anyway, I have been sitting her staring at her for two days now trying to see what he sees.  It intrigues me because – in that particular piece – I just can NOT find it.

So this morning, I decided to have another visit with the Umbrella Girl, and imagine her as I would see sultry.  This is the beginning of it.  I haven’t really cleaned it up yet or done much with it – was just a quick slap down.  But it’s a start.

What do you see?

8 Responses to “>Sultry vs Sorrowful?”

  1. Lovkyně April 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    >it's that air of mystery about her that makes her seem sultry, i think. in both pictures, we see that she knows something we don't. but we can't necessarily see far enough into her soul to tell whether her secret is one of sorrow or seduction.

  2. The Empress April 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    >Sultry with sad eyes.

  3. Marlene April 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    >You really should sell digi images to stampers, dude!! This is precisely the kind of images a lot of them are looking at these days. Gorgeous!

  4. Jane April 21, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    >I see sultry, sadness and mystery all at once.

  5. Katsidhe April 21, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    >I saw sultry, but then sadness does indeed have an alluring quality about it. I love it and it's beautiful no matter which I angle I view it.

  6. nene April 21, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    >She's sad and on the virge of disheartend angerwhich will eventually turn into disavowing caring for anything and anyone any more.

  7. Nubian April 22, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    >I see both

  8. Nelly April 22, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    >If you wouldn't have said sorrowful, I would have only seen sultry. But as I look at her more, I see a melancoly to her. Either way, she is beautiful.

Comments are closed.