>The One in which I am Terrified

14 Mar

>

To say I am scared shitless would be an understatement.  After putting it off for years, I am finally and actually going to the dentist tomorrow to have my face ripped open like a bad remake of a Romero movie.
I hate dentists to begin with (obviously – which has gotten me here in the first place).  The idea of having them saw open my head only makes matters worse.
But, in the end, I know I will feel better.  Right?  You might actually catch a glimpse of me actually smiling at some point in the near future.  I went back through pics and can’t find one in the last decade or so (at least) where I am actually, genuinely smiling.
So it’s a good thing.  I hope.  Either that or – when things go horribly wrong – I can be an extra for season two of The Walking Dead and not need prosthetic make up to look like the horror of all horrors.
I think I am going to go throw up now.

19 Responses to “>The One in which I am Terrified”

  1. Oilfield Trash March 14, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    >I don't like dentists either.

  2. Pam Tucker March 14, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    >I totally share your fear… one of my worst!

  3. BROWNBUGZ March 14, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    >I think that's too overly exaggerated. hehe You'll be fine. Smile!http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  4. Rabbit March 14, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    >Really not that much of an exaggeration. I am having all my teeth cut out and the bone reshaped. So it's a pretty accurate description….

  5. Nubian March 14, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    >My friend just had that done and she looks fabulous! I am all for anesthesia, knock me out and get it over with in one sitting.

  6. Rabbit March 14, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    >They're giving me a pill for "sedation" but not putting me completely under. I think THAT is what is the most horrifying. I don't want to be awake for that shit. Maybe we should bring a shovel and I can have mom just take me out back and give me her best Lizzie Borden before hand.

  7. Kate March 14, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    >Ohh, all the best! I'm sure the final result will make it all worthwhile! :)Kate x

  8. Jhon Baker March 14, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    >you will not find many folks who like dentists – I prefer my teeth to not hurt and the dentist I use makes that so. I've had a root canal and a removal without Novocain though, don't know how tough it makes me but I do know that it now makes me take really really good care of my teeth and not put off dentistry. fear is good for the soul – you'll be triumphant when you go.

  9. ~L March 14, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    >Micael, bring your ear buds and listen to music…that helps with the sound. And, ask for more sedation, threaten with a mysterious affliction of arm jabs when in pain…they sit pretty close, maybe you could also inform them of your tendency to vomit pea soup while your head spins 360 degrees…I think they may have mercy (and be afraid) enough to drug you up.Enjoy 🙂

  10. nene March 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    >Good luck, Micael or as they say in Spanish …"aiy, ya ya ya aiy, holy chit, man"!

  11. Cat Chat With Caren And Cody March 14, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    >UGH!!! I HATE dentists too but they are a necessary evil. I did what you did and didn't go for a few years and that only made it worse.USE THE GAS!! I used it for the first time a few months ago and when you use the gas you don't give a damn about anything that he does!I had two teeth pulled over the past couple of years because I waited too long to go. You don't want to be like me! I repeat…USE THE GAS!!

  12. Lovkyně March 14, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    >and soon the whole thing will be over and you can be like "look what i lived through this time, bitches!" 😛

  13. The Absence of Alternatives March 14, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    >Ask for Laughing Gas!!!! Growing up where I grew up, I always equated dentist office to my own death chamber: I once suffered through a root canal with no Novocain (not available at that time I assume). I found the dentists in the US endearing, they are really worried that you may experience pain. And they do try to minimize the pain. I hope your dentist is like the ones I have seen… I am going to the dentist in 10 minutes also. I will be sending great thoughts your way!

  14. mel March 14, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    >oh yeah..i'd hold out for more sedation…there's no shame in crying if they tell you 'no'. :Di don't think they realize that all the yanking and drilling is just as distressing as if you could feel what they're doing….*shudder*xoxo

  15. Kaylen March 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    >I abhor going to the dentist. I have so much anxiety about them….even for just a checkup or cleaning. My dentist of late is pretty great though-as soon as I sit in the chair for anything beyond a cleaning, they get me going on gas immediately. I think they are as afraid of me as I am of them – teh best part though is that they don't charge me for the nitrous! My first visit to them a couple years ago was a routine checkup and I found I had a cavity and they wanted to do it right then and there, which was great I guess, but I kept asking them questions for 10 minutes and they finally said, we'll just give you some gas now, okay? no need to tell your insurance about it…let's just get your relaxed. And now they have some kind of note on their chart that I'm the biggest baby.Good luck!!! I hope it goes well for you!

  16. David Allen Waters March 14, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    >ha, the living dead is awesome, and you could never be an extra on that show, even without a smile you look to good…once its all done you will have a brilliant smile. Sending good thoughts your way friend.

  17. Mynx March 14, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    >Nothing I can say to make it less scary but I have had some pretty major dental work and in the end, it is worth it. I take music to distract me. Something I can lose myself in. Good luck and sending you hugs

  18. The Empress March 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    >Dentists are generally evil in my book but still necessary nonetheless. As terrified of going to them as I am, usually I discover that the anticipation of the dreaded event ends up being worse than any procedure they perform. Good luck and can't wait to see your beautiful new smile.xo

  19. Marlene March 14, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    >I am so with you….cannot stand the dentist…BUT….I trudge off unwillingly every six months, and so my deep rooted, though excommunicated *snort* Catholic-girl guilt is averted (at least for this…heehee.)

Comments are closed.