>Inquiring minds want to know…

19 Feb

>

More than a few of you have asked about Rabbit’s Den and what it takes to become a member.
Rabbit’s Den is intended to be an interactive community for artists.  All artists – be it writers, poets, painters, sketch artists, et cetera.  The medium doesn’t matter because we, as artists, draw inspiration from so many different places if we allow ourselves to do so.  It is not just a place for the cool kids to hang out just so you can say you are a member.  If you are part of the community, you are expected to BE a part of the community and contribute your own art into the mix.  
This community is free to all members, it is not free, however to me.  It comes out of my pocket and thusly I am selective as to who joins as we have a limited amount of space available.  Blogger is great for the “ooh so pretty” comments.  There’s plenty of room and space to sit here and do that.  Such is not the case at Rabbit’s Den.  It’s simply not feasible.
So, short answer as to what it takes to become a member:  Be an artist.  Contribute.  Simple as that.  We keep an eye on the activity and those that do not contribute are not a part of the community for very so, so there is always room for those seeking a place to share and be shared.  This is a unique endeavour that we have undertaken as there as so few places like this on the web that are genuinely FOR artists, and not just a collection of pats of the backs.  As artists we need a place to coexist with others of our kind to grow – that’s what this is (intended to be).

Hope that clears things up.  It’s not personal.  Really.  But if all you are going to do is sit there and ooooh and ahhhh, then The Den is not the place for you.  

Not what it’s about.
4 Responses to “>Inquiring minds want to know…”

  1. becca February 19, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    >will definitely have to go check it out if i can find the courage

  2. Lolamouse February 19, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    >Rabbit,Is there a way to automatically get posts from Blogger to post to the Den? I have a poetry blog on Blogger but by the time I post there and link to the half dozen other poetry sites I'm a member of, I often forget to add my link to the Den. Mea culpa.

  3. Mrs. Hyde February 20, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    >Okay…you know I had to click the 'fuck off' button. I would love to be a Rabbit's Den artist, but I suck at commitment. How often does one have to contribute?

  4. Georgina Dollface February 21, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    >I'm looking forward to getting involved again. I see that some new people have signed up since I've been off-line, which is really cool. I'm looking forward to working on my RD page this weekend. And I see you have been busy too – very insiring to come back to. I can't wait to read/see all your new projects. I just have to get thru this first week back at work and then I'll be happily hanging out with all my blog friends again. Hugs! – G

Comments are closed.