>Choices

10 Jan

>Someone asked me today if I could only be one, a writer, a poet, or an artist, which would I choose…

I don’t know that I could give up on without damaging the other.  They all feed my soul.  And trust me, my soul is the fat lady at the taco truck of life – and that bitch is too busy stuffing her face to even think about singing.

I would rather be none at all than only one.

Do you have a passion that you could sacrifice if neccessity came down to it?

And on a relatedly unrelated note, I still don’t know what the fate of this blog is to be.  It’s still a struggle.  The blogging world has become – and is becoming more so – a really ugly place.  It’s becoming a place of Mean Girls and popularity contests and name-calling. I am not sure it is healthy for me at this point of my voyage. I am not sure that I want it to be included in this part of my voyage.  I just really don’t know anymore.  So many things are proving more interest and fulfillment to me of late and the blog as its own entity is becoming something I just groan over anymore…

So I don’t know…  I just don’t know.

That is a choice I don’t think I would have any real problem making if the brass tacks came to call.

14 Responses to “>Choices”

  1. Jhon Baker January 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    >avoid the bastards. Do what makes YOU fulfilled. We love you in our lives but good friends know when someone needs a break and allows them that. If I were forced to give up my artistic passions – even only one of them, I think I would rather end my life thus letting go of all of them, but cannot prescribe continuing to live without them. Yes, I would choose death to mediocrity.

  2. Magaly Guerrero January 10, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    >I guess the name calling people have skipped me, but I do get my share of hate mail. I usually smile, blink a few times (there are some really awful ones) and then I block them. Life, even blogging life, is too precious and short to let others push you around.But if you decide to give it up, just say bye before you do.Happy 2011

  3. mel January 10, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    >i can't help but notice that your crane seems to have taken flight….i *get* it…i really do…..especially all the interesting bits…xoxox

  4. Oilfield Trash January 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    >I don't think I could give up any of my passions.

  5. David Allen Waters January 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    >our passions help us to live fully and explore this life to the fullest…you need to do what feeds your soul my friend, fly be free…explore,enjoy……..live.

  6. Lynne H. January 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    >I agree with Jhon…If I were to lose my site, I must learn braille because writing is how I live. Honestly, I can not imagine a life without allowing my thoughts onto the page..You do what is best for you and I had some jerk leave a post on my blog recently saying how he wanted to f*** me.. Wasn't that delightful.. I just trash canned it and moved on..We love you!!!

  7. BROWNBUGZ January 10, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    >You gotta do what you gotta do for yourself and for your own happiness. Nobody else can do it better. Whatever it takes…http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  8. becca January 10, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    >Honey you do what makes you happy and fulfills your life and rest be damned. as for giving up ones passion i'm not sure i could it is what keeps me sane on most days. hope your well. hugs

  9. Marlene January 10, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    >Blog for yourself….and for those of us who love to read your writings.

  10. Pam Tucker January 10, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    >I can sense your wanting to take flight, too… do what's best for YOU! We'll always love you. You know where to find us. 😉

  11. nene January 10, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    >I don't know that that question is valid or one that you should even entertain. Posing a question of such content to an artist whose border edges are undefinable amongst the methods of choice for artistic expression. Would a question be valid to pose to an Eagle: Which would it prefer to give up; it's talons or it's ability to fly?

  12. Mrs. Hyde January 11, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    >For the longest time I devoted all my passion to people and things outside of myself. Now that I've begun to nurture the passion within, I think I'd die without it.

  13. Mynx January 11, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    >The blog world is only a crosssection of reality, with it's share of gems and bullshit.Clear the clutter so you can breathe. As to what passion would I give up, if I had to choose between my family and my writing, it would have to be my family. I hope I never have to though.

  14. Jane January 12, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    >In all the time I've been blogging I've only ever received one nasty comment. I feel so grateful for my little community of support here. I used to have blog envy of those who post and get 100 comments. Then I realized that I didn't get in to the blogging for that. It's just my little space in the universe to write and share and connect. With that being said, I do know how it feels to reach points where my writing feels stale and I have no idea what direction I'm going with it. Just keep writing and sharing when you can. We love you!!I'm a jack of all trades and a master of few so it wouldn't be difficult for me to give up one area over another. I find that eventually my painting translates over to fabric which translates over to jewelry which translates somewhere else. Everything feeds off each other.

Comments are closed.