>I Am.

6 Jan

>

I am really trying to take a break.  Honestly, I am.  But I can’t help swooping in with my patch kit trying to mend things…  As always.
There seems to be an air of dissention lately in the artistic realm. I thought maybe when Mercury turned his crazy ass around and started wandering in the right direction that the Universe would calm down a little.  And it has, but in turn the spirit seems to be up in arms lately.  
This is not an award, but more of a reminder.  A declaration. A statement.  An affirmation.  My blog world of late has become filled with so many artists that inspire me on a daily basis.  People like Lynne who make me feel.  Pam who makes me remember.  Mel who inspired me to pick up my brushes again.  Patrick’s view through the lens.  Georgina’s doodle.  Ant’s stories.  Jhon who makes me want to better my writing.  Jane’s graceful abandon of all that she is. I stand in awe of so many of you. Were I to go through my blog roll and list each of you, we’d be here ’til the world stopped turning.  I thank you.  All of you. I applaud you.  I admire you.  I steal. I borrow.  And I try to return.
People get caught up in what an artist is supposed to be…  Whether it’s a poet or a painter – a photographer or cartoonist.  From the Harvard professor to the pan handler begging for change and slinging words into magic.  We forget that it’s about the art and not about accolades.  Everything I do is self taught.  I have no degree.  I have taken not a single class.  I have no instruction other that what I have snatched from life as it whirled by. Does that make me any less of an artist? No. Does my ignorance put me at a disadvantage? Certainly, if I don’t use it as an opportunity to grow and to learn.  But I am still an artist.  That will never be taken from me. Not by anyone but myself.
So this is for those mentioned above and for anyone who identifies with it.  Take it.  Steal it.  Post it.  Art is made to be stolen.  And borrowed.  And shared.  And rediscovered.  And recreated. And created.  It’s called inspiration.
I hope many of you will.  I hope I see this on countless blogs.  And I hope you remember.  I hope you remind yourself.  And I hope you remind others.
We are all artist.  And that, in itself, is enough.

Until again,

28 Responses to “>I Am.”

  1. Vencora January 6, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    >love it! ^_^

  2. Miss Nikki January 6, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    >I snagged it, I love it. I think being an artist is more a state of mind than an "occupation".Cheers!my cyber house rules

  3. Midwestern Mama Holly January 6, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    >What Vencora said! ❤

  4. The Empress January 6, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    >I ❤ U Rabbit. And I will borrow this beautiful reminder.

  5. mice_aliling January 7, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    >I am grabbing zeee button now! :)Good artists borrow. Great artists steal. – bastardly quoted from Picasso 🙂

  6. Mynx January 7, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    >Love decorating my page with little rabbity creations. It will remind me to stop doubting my abilities. Thankyou

  7. lyndylou January 7, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    >I really really liked this and I wish you had put links on those names so that I could have seen some of these people who inspire you. I have been having a low moment and you have just lifted me up, thanks 🙂

  8. becca January 7, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    >love it, love you and totally going to steal it. you amaze me , inspire me and completely captivate me. hugs.

  9. nene January 7, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    >Yeah! What he said! For those of us without the MFA's without the BA's and most important which might be a positive, without the BS's, with a more effort, more reasons, greater motivations, '…we shall overcome'. Ignorance may stand between us and the norm of illumination but never an obstacle toward imagination. Life, with open eyes and a pencil or pen, allows us all to be 'artists'. Thanks for opening (QQ) my eyes!

  10. Lynne H. January 7, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    >I would be thrilled if someone stole/borrowed my words.. It would mean they are thief-worthy..We love you Warrior Man..Keep creating:-)

  11. mel January 7, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    >WOOOT!!! i am SO stealin' this baby!!right fucking on, my friend. you've said exactly what i tried to say…in so many less words and without the flames….LOLrocking my world you are…have i mentioned i love you?xoxox

  12. Nariane January 7, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    >Art on Rabbit!you *are* inspiration.

  13. Pam Tucker January 7, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    >OH, I am stealing this one! ;)Yes, YOU have been such an inspiration to ME, I hope you know that, Rabbit. And like all the others, I love you, too!!BIG HUG!!!

  14. Caren Gittleman January 7, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    >Rabbit I LOVE IT!!AND YOU!I am "stealing" this as well!!!Rabbit you ROCK!

  15. annienomad January 7, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    >"I have no instruction other than what I have snatched from life as it whirled by." Which is as it should be.I believe individual curiosity is the most important factor in developing a unique voice.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dq7GNTGvHoM

  16. BROWNBUGZ January 7, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    >Rabbit, live long and prosper! :-)http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  17. robertga99 January 7, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    >love it

  18. Marlene January 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    >You are amazing. ❤

  19. Toni January 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    >Loved it! My favorite part was "Art is made to be stolen. And borrowed. And shared. And rediscovered. And recreated. And created. It's called inspiration." I might have to steal that… : )

  20. Lolamouse January 7, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    >You always seem to post something just I need to see it. I'm starting to do more writing lately and posting it-always a bit anxiety provoking. Thanks for the boost! "Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent. And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it. In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said: “It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to."— Jim Jarmusch

  21. Jhon Baker January 7, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    >Don't borrow – it's cheap and beneath you – steal, it's what I do…ah, hahaha, okay, I love this and am taking it with much thanks – I can only hope that all those you mentioned will do the same as I hold them in very high regard and would revel in the little nod and wink between us all.May I assume that you are referring to my topic as of late? I think a lot of good has come of it once we got past the initial blood letting Continued discourse on art serves art to broaden and deepen it; It doesn't take training to be an artist – it only takes a love of what you are trying to do – you embody the trials and efforts of effective artists, artists with true merit. Seeking to better ourselves and our art through our art and ourselves and reaching beyond to reach something higher is the singular act of learning – which is what I propose we all do. No need of formal training but care and diligent effort.Thank you, Rabbit, your input is always of value.

  22. Mrs. Hyde January 7, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    >Thank you for this. I love it and I am stealing it for both blogs. xoxo

  23. Greyscale Territory January 8, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    >What a brilliant post! Not just inspiring for now, but worthy of a return visit!

  24. Storm Wenger Chronicles January 8, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    >Hello Rabbit, I've ventured onto your site circuitously through bruce over at "stupid stuff…", I then rounded the corner at "The Ranter's Box", and a turn later here I am…reading you.Indeed, a worthwhile little adventure…very deep and very pure!Lola

  25. Pat Tillett January 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    >I am both flattered and inspired to be included in that group of names. There is no doubt about it; you are an artist! The thought of me inspiring you, makes me want to get even better at the things I do. Thanks for that!

  26. Bukowski's Basement January 9, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    >True dat, bruthaman … Keep that creative spark alive in any which way 😉

  27. Anna Schüler February 17, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    >yes!

  28. J~ February 24, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    >stolen with pride!

Comments are closed.