>Need Your Help, NOW.

4 Jan

>Those of you that are members of Etsy, please help me report this seller and get this crap off the site.  This is not even the worst of them, there is also a “Congrats you got raped” and “Congrats you got breast cancer” on there as well.  It’s wrong. Period.

The one that caught my eye:

Please feel free to reblog this, Tweet, FB, whatever you’d like.  Let just get this taken care of.

The seller’s name is youstupidbitch and the actual URL is http://www.etsy.com/shop/youstupidbitch?ref=pr_shop_more – the link to report the shop is the very last option in the left hand column.  Must be logged in to report.

Thanks, y’all,
Rabs

UPDATE:  YOU CAN ALSO NOW SIGN THE PETITION AT CHANGE.ORG TO HAVE THIS SELLER REMOVED FROM ETSY.  PLEASE SEE THE TOP OF THE SIDEBAR TO YOUR RIGHT.

37 Responses to “>Need Your Help, NOW.”

  1. Kate January 4, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    >Sorry, I don't have Etsy. I hope you get that sorted though.Hope all is well with you!Haven't commented in a while but still reading and particularly appreciating your poetry.Kate x

  2. Midwestern Mama Holly January 4, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    >This is beyond distinguishing! Reporting right freaking now!

  3. Oilfield Trash January 4, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    >Some people just need a swift kick to the balls. And the idiot who made that is one of them.

  4. Vinny C January 4, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    >I just went over & saw. It's disgusting what people will stoop to for a quick buck.

  5. Pam Tucker January 4, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    >This truly made me sick. I reported it.

  6. Lolamouse January 4, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    >Done. While I'm all for freedom of expression, no matter how effin' appalling, Etsy is not the place for that crap! BTW, have you ever considered putting any of your work on Etsy?

  7. Jhon Baker January 4, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    >Done, but I must admit I struggled with the decision to report – for about a minute, only because of my strong feelings about first amendment and expression, after all, my freedom to speak comes only from my willingness to tolerate others freedom and defend their right to be complete assholes. However, as Lolamouse stated, Etsy is not the place for such vileness, I reported them because of this and simply there are no real issues with freedom of speech here – they can move their intolerance somewhere else.I couldn't imagine receiving one of these cards, I think I would have to introduce them to their god so they can square it in person.

  8. Rabbit ૐ January 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    >I agree, John, that I initially waffled over the issue at first. My problem with it is that I do a lot of business with – and for – Etsy, as do many of my blog readers and friends. I do not want my monies supporting something like this. I am sure that holds true for many reading this blog. If not, to each their own. I don't support censorship by any means, however, if this is what is being associated with my name and my business by being a part of Etsy, I want it stopped. As a paying customer and client I feel that I have at least some say in the matter.

  9. Jhon Baker January 4, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    >Let us hope that something comes of our complaint. Surely I would not want to do business with a company that supports these views, in any form. Now would I want my name in association with such obvious hatred and intolerance, it is good that you brought it to our attention and I can honestly say that I am never surprised by our similarity in thought process, often I am made glad by it. – Jhon

  10. Mama Zen January 4, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    >Reported!

  11. pia January 4, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    >I am a strong advocate of The First Amendment. That said anybody who tried to sell swastikas and the like so publicly would be virtually crucified for good reason. This is akin to thatWe're entering a new world. This was an excellent blog post in the New York Times todayhttp://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/01/03/anonymity-and-the-dark-side-of-the-internet/?hpI don't belong to Etsy but will join for thisI've always said "I'll let you have the Second Amendment if you keep The First whole" as I believe it's the cornerstone of American democracy. But we can't allow bigoted prejudiced people to "win."

  12. becca January 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    >how awful and reported. this has to go.

  13. lyndylou January 4, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    >That is totally shocking! There is no humour in that AT ALL!

  14. ThePittsofBeingPeachy January 4, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    >I don't do Etsy. I haven't found that special cat hair voo doo doll that I couldn't' live without or anything I couldn't make all on my own, so I wont be heading over there for anything especially this. I find a boat load of stuff on the internet that is wrong, disgusting, and has no point other than hurting some one or a group of people. Don't let this idiot get you riled up there are way more assholes than decent people in the world and you will spend your life battling instead of enjoying. However if you can get me an actual address I would be happy to set a date to meet with this dirtbag in a dark alley.

  15. Rabbit ૐ January 4, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    >The petition over in the sidebar doesn't require membership of any kind if you'd like to sign that instead.

  16. Lynne H. January 4, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    >I have an ETSY acct and I'm definitely on it.. This is nothing short of cruelty and ignorance.. Have no fear, Rab's soldiers are on it!!!!

  17. Jackie January 4, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    >That is sick! I do not have Etsy so I can't really help but I will tell those I know who use it to help!! Good Luck getting them removed!

  18. mel January 4, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    >i agree — this is more about the platform (Etsy) than the moron (well-named, i might add) who came up with this crap. sure – they can move off to another damp, stinky corner of the internet and carry on, but not reacting strictly on that premise is like saying – 'ah, no point in stopping the KKK, they'll just go and light a fire somewhere else." wtf? get your head outta your self-absorbed ass.as far as i'm concerned, this falls into the category of proliferation of hate and shouldn't be protected under your laws (i'm a little bitter because i couldn't sign the petition — it only wants US input…:P)so yeah — i reported it. i happily support Etsy and the wonderful artists/creators that sell things there — but not if they're gonna allow shit like this.again — feel free to edit for content. i know my little sister would've LOVED to get that 'Congratulations, you were raped" – card when she was 17.fucking hell.

  19. Rabbit ૐ January 4, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    >I agree wholeheartedly. I am less about getting this jackwagon to quit producing the cards as I am in letting Etsy know that I find this unacceptable. I have already reported it at the site, both the entire store and then each (yes, and every) card individually – as well as emailing them (Etsy) directly, and calling the corporate office and leaving a rather lengthy voicemail.The person making the card is more than likely just going to move and and smear his shit elsewhere, but at least I will have stopped it here (or there, as the case may be).

  20. Reckmonster January 4, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    >I reported it as well – while we have "freedom of speech" – that tasteless, offensive card should have AT LEAST been marked as mature. Maybe some of those "things" in the cards will happen to the maker of the cards…and he/she can congratulate him/herself – with one of the cards.

  21. BROWNBUGZ January 4, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    >I have an Etsy account and I just reported that seller. I also signed your Change.Org petition. May I ask permission to re-blog this in my blog page? Thank you. http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  22. Rabbit ૐ January 4, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    >Please do, Brownbugz – the more people that know about this the better!

  23. BROWNBUGZ January 4, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    >I just re-bloged! Thanks!http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  24. Miss Nikki January 4, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    >Yo Rabbit! Count me in. I signed the petition and reported them on my Etsy account. Congrats you have AIDS and your kid has down syndrome? Even I don't do such a misplaced joke. It's simply vile. Thanks for letting us know.

  25. Mrs. Hyde January 4, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    >To say that this is in poor taste is an understatement. I am still amazed at how cruel people can be. It makes me sick. I don't have and acct, but I signed the petition. Freedom of speech my ass!

  26. Mynx January 4, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    >It wont let me sign Sweets, but I did try. Guessing it is because I am O/s.There has to be a line drawn somewhere, even with a right to free speech. Or else there will never be a chance of Peace in this worldHugsxxx

  27. Caren Gittleman January 4, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    >I know the blog "Two Little Cavaliers" also reported this CRAP that is on Etsy. Frankly if Etsy cannot remove these items (and the individual) then frankly Etsy should NOT be patronized!

  28. gayle January 4, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    >That site and the person that is doing this is just Sick!!! I going to sign now!!

  29. Marlene January 4, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    >This is sick…and in the same blasted category as that horrible how-to drivel written by a pedophile which was recently for sale at Barnes & Nobel. That got the media attention. This should, too. DISGUSTING.

  30. Pat Tillett January 5, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    >the truth is, some morons don't deserve first amendment rights. I left a complaint at Etsy and am going to sign the petition.

  31. Nikke Brown January 5, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    >This makes me absolutely sick to my stomach. I can't believe that they would allow such a seller.As an avid buyer and seller on Etsy, I definitely red flagged this seller and hope they listen or I will no longer have an account there. Absolutely disgusting.

  32. Jane January 5, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    >WHAT THE FUCK?! I'm pretty sure that idiot is going to Hell. What has Etsy come to these days? I guess they no longer care about quality and decent artisans. I think they care more about collecting their monthly fees. To add insult to the wound, the seller has made something like 26 sales with 100% positive feedback. If I see a card about autism I'll totally fucking lose it. I'm signing the petition.

  33. Jane January 5, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    >Just coming back to say that the seller is probably enjoying all the negative publicity since it will ultimately bring people to their shop to see what everyone is talking about and hence, more sales. Shame on the seller.

  34. Annah January 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    >How dare this guy? WHAT THE FRACK. Disgusting and beyond belief.He'll get his though. Don't you worry about that.

  35. Greyscale Territory January 5, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    >This is beyond sick! I am not a member of Etsy, but I have tweeted your post! Thanks for this info!

  36. holly January 5, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    >Petition signed because I'm not etsy-savvy enough to report a user yet. I checked out the cards and they were all pretty fucking horrible. I'm going to send this seller a "congratulations, you're the devil" card.

  37. Georgina Dollface January 5, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    >This turns my stomach. Of course his defence will be that he's just being "ironic", and "we don't get it." I really hope Etsy removes this seller. – G

Comments are closed.