>The New Year

2 Jan

>

First of all, let me say thank you for the huge and unexpected response to yesterday’s post.  I said I was taking a break and you’d have thought I said I was walking off the edge of the earth.  Which is entirely possible as it is flat and I am the most clumsy ass person I know…  So I could very likely walk – or more apt, fall – off the face of the earth…  Anyway…

I am not abandoning the blog altogether.  I am just reassessing what is important at this fork in the road.  I have run out of things to say here – and before the blog jumps shark like Laverne & Shirley leaving Milwaukee, I want to pause to reflect its fate while it is still in good standing.  I don’t want to become one of those bloggers on your list that causes everyone to groan with “what now” or be one that is no longer even read at all.  I have far to many of those casualties in my own reading list.  I don’t want to become one for you.

There is a lot going on here.  I am no longer covered by Medicaid – and while I have my meds covered for the time being, paying for the actual doctor visits is up in the air.  My disability hinges on said doctor visits – as do my prescriptions – so I am in a bit of a panic at the moment as to how to take care of everything.  I am going to have to run my OWN charity drive in a minute just to be able to go to the doctor.  So the blog and something to yap about is not of the greatest importance – unless you want day after day of I can’t pay my doctor.  Wooo. Yeah.  Fun stuff.
Beyond that I just don’t have the interest at the moment.  I have begun writing in an actual journal on actual paper with an actual pen again.  Imagine!  And so, perhaps, what would have gone into the blog is going there.  My life is such that I haven’t any more great stories to tell or wild adventures to live.  I live in the middle of nowhere, pretty much in one room, with a herd of ill-behaved dogs.  Not exactly blog fodder.
But I am not leaving, per say.  When I have something, I will share.  The blog will still be here.  I still have email and FB for those of you that I interact with.  I just won’t be wasting your time (as much) with my mindless prattle.
But thank you.  The comments yesterday astounded me.  The posts on your own blogs blew me away and brought me to (happy) tears.  My blog brought each of you into my life.  I cherish that.  I won’t give that up.
So just hang in there.  Bear with me.  And keep an eye out.  I’m still kicking.  I’m still cussing.  I’m still dancing.  
Like the rabbit in Wonderland, you’ll see me out of the corner of your eye here and there when you least expect it.  
I’ll be around.
– Rabs
18 Responses to “>The New Year”

  1. Nubian January 2, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    >Doing the happy dance.

  2. Lolamouse January 2, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    >Glad you're not leaving us! So sorry about your medical and financial worries. You're always thinking about others;what can I do to help you? Seriously.

  3. Raven of the Green Mountains January 2, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    >I understand where you are coming from Rabbit. I am also re-evaluating my own blog. I am entry year three, and I also do not want to be one of those individuals who invoke groans.If you need anything, you know how to contact me darlin.

  4. Mrs. Hyde January 2, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    >Point taken, smart ass. I'll stop being a crybaby. 😛 I'm getting old, so I can't exactly control it anymore. Add that to PMS and it's a volatile mixture over here. I always make it about me, don't I? I know. It's a gift.Anything I can do to help, just ask. Lolamouse is right; you spend a lot of time and energy helping others. It would be my pleasure to help you.

  5. Christina Paul January 2, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    >Awww…As much as I empathize with your current situation I must admit that I enjoy your “mindless prattle” 🙂 I wish you luck on your doc & medicine adventures to come and will wait patiently for more pieces of your journey. Until then take care of yourself Rabbit

  6. mel January 2, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    >yeah, your healthcare systems sucks the biggest toilet ever. serious. wtf? we may have long wait-times and have to beg, borrow and bribe to have a family doctor take us on — but we do get what we need. free of charge…..ack…dangerously close to a rant.yeah so really — if you need anything – ANYTHING…you'd better let us know. or i'll come down there and kick your skinny ass…:)much love to you…xoxox

  7. BROWNBUGZ January 2, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    >That's great to know. I mean, I just recently join your numerous blog readers' list and to have read that you're sort of leaving was kind of sad. But… here you are! Looking forward to reading more.http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  8. David Allen Waters January 2, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    >healthcare sucks! Im sorry you have to deal with such shit.Ill be here when you post my friend:)

  9. Mynx January 2, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    >I love Alice in Wonderland, even the Tim Burton one. I know you will be coming and going. You wont be able to resist. Sending positive thoughts your way and big hugs xx

  10. Miss Nikki January 2, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    >I doubt you could ever become one of those. Also that you could run out of stuff to say. YOU? And I also doubt you'd ever be the type to post baloney crap such as "I ate a bran muffin for breakfast…"Just saying…http://noreallyitsnotme.blogspot.com/

  11. becca January 2, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    >i totally feel you on the doctor and med front be paying my own for years and they don't come cheap no matter if you get generic or not. as for taking a break you do what you have to do and be sure if i need to or if i miss you too much i will jump down that ribbit hole to come visit you. hugs

  12. Pam Tucker January 2, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    >I'll always be here waiting for you when you have something to say! 😉

  13. gayle January 2, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    >Glad to hear you are not leaving forever!! I don't understand our health care system!!

  14. ~L January 2, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    >paper and pen…what a concept!

  15. Caren Gittleman January 2, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    >and we will be waiting!!xoxo

  16. Marlene January 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    >I'm glad you're still around! 🙂 Must catch up…I've missed so much the last two weeks while on my own little self-induced hiatus.

  17. FreeFlying January 3, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    >Oh gosh. I kind of disappeared for the holidays and missed all this. Now I'll have to work my way backwards. But I'm glad you'll still be around. I love reading your stuff. You're an incredible writer with an amazing range and I am supremely jealous of your mad skillz. Don't leave, Rabbit!

  18. The Barreness January 3, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    >Obviously thrilled you're sticking around a while but really??Enough about you.I'm DYING here for your creation.Put me out of my misery, Rabbs!!!*smooch*- B x

Comments are closed.