>Letting it Be

1 Jan

>

What a year 2010 was.  From its beginning living in a motel, to my near death, to finding out I am HIV+, to learning to live again.  That’s a lot to smash into 365 days, lemme tell ya.
Each year I try to find a word or a phrase with which to gear myself toward for the next 365 days, and I always choose a song for the year.  I don’t do resolutions, because they never work.  I have changed so much – and so much about and around me has changed.  I left one situation to walk-crash into another – neither better or worse, just different.  But such is the way of life I guess.  My biggest challenge is the crazymakers in my world. I was born of them, I drank myself for many years into being one  of them, I attract them like a steaming pile of shit to a swarm of flies and I fall to their games.  I tend to allow myself to get wrapped up in the madness of it all and it debilitates me.

My word for this year is PEACE.  I long for it.  I plan to seek it out.  To be it.  To share it.  My song is The Beatles’ “Let it Be.”  I suspect if I can learn to let it be, I can find that peace I so desire.  I don’t know what 2011 holds, but after last year, I am open armed in anticipation.  I felt 2010 would be a year of change when it began.  I was just unprepared for exactly what that meant.  This time around I feel growth – and dare I say – perhaps, some happiness.  So I just need to let it be, and actually listen for those answers.
I will also be taking an indefinite and undetermined break from the blog.  It’s not what it once was, and not what I want it to be right now.  So rather than allow it to make me crazy, I am taking a step back.  I will still be around, and will still post as it strikes – stories, poems art, but it will no longer be an “I have to blog” effort.  When it started becoming an effort, it lost a lot of its magic for me.  I need to rediscover that magic and refill my well of words in order for The Journey to be worth following again.  You cna find links to all three blogs (this, the poetry, and the art) at MagicGumbo.com.  

I closed that down (my graphic design business) too for the time being.  It was also taking too much out of me.  Because of the economy I was trying to help people out and be the nice guy and do things heavily discounted or for trade, and was getting screwed over more often than not.  There are still some blogs I have done out there that you’re looking at that the trade part of the deal never came through.  They got their pretty, I go a big fuck in the ass (and no, I didn’t enjoy it). So rather than become bitter about the liars, and thieves, and advantage takers, and schemers, and scammers, I simply eliminated that portal for negativity out of my life altogether. Little Things like that I just don’t need.  (If you still have work that I have done up – that you’ve actually paid for! – I will still maintain anything you need.  My paying customers have been a dream – and a good one.  So worry not.  I still have you all covered.)  [Update: To clarify, I am referring to “paying” clients with whom I had an agreement that never fulfilled their end of the deal.  NOT those of you I have created pieces for “off the clock” – buttons, headers, et cetera.  This is strictly business related full unpaid blog designs and websites ranting.]
So that’s my resoulution.  I don’t resolve to do or not do anything.  I am just letting it be.
What are your plans for the coming year?
Seeking and Sharing Peace,
Rabbit
33 Responses to “>Letting it Be”

  1. Oilfield Trash January 1, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    >Peace and letting it be is actually a pretty good thing. I think I could stand to have a little bit of both of those this year.Happy New Year.

  2. mel January 1, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    >OH. (((((hugs)))))this is amazing…truly. (although i'm a bit sad about the blog….but absolutely understand)that's a great word for the year…mine is 'engage' — i wrote about it on my other blog which i'll eventually link to the 'Moon when i can be arsed to post there….;)and yep, i have a feeling it's gonna be a *good* year…much, much love to you Dear Heart…you are one of the gifts that 2010 gave me…xoxo

  3. David Allen Waters January 1, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    >My biggest hope for the new year is that I learn how to allow happiness into my life…you inspire my friend, happy new yr:)

  4. Pam Tucker January 1, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    >OH that's a perfect word for the year. And I understand about the blog. No fun if the magic is gone. I have a feeling you'll refill your well soon enough. Happy New Year to you. You've been a wonderful inspiration to me…XX

  5. sweepyjean January 1, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    >As long as you continue to create your wonderful art work and poetry, it's all good. I wish you all the best in your endeavor for peace this year. I'm seeking peace as well and for me the nuance is for "balance." I often feel overwhelmed and I need to learn what I should do to move forward and what baggage to throw overboard. Much love to you. xox

  6. Lolamouse January 1, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    >Happy New Year and Shalom, Rabbit. For those who aren't familiar with the Hebrew term, shalom can mean "hello" but also "peace," but in a more all-encompassing way than usually thought of. It means making amends, making good, restoring wellness and wholeness, and hope for prosperity and peace. I wish you all this and more. Your messages and art are a great inspiration to me and I hope you find what you're seeking.

  7. Jhon Baker January 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    >Peace, brother. We all need it. Let it all shine on…

  8. Georgina Dollface January 1, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    >I like the idea of picking one word for the year and then letting the Universe take care of the details. As you wisely pointed out, sometimes what we wish for and what we get are two different things. But if we can be open to receiving the ways that the Universe interprets and delivers our word to us, then we can really be at peace with what is, and stp struggling with all the things we think should be. I'm sending a big hug to you from me for all of the wonderful ways that you have touched my life in 2010. – G

  9. bruce January 1, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    >peace for you my friend!will miss your steady posts but totally understand!Happy New Year!Brucebruce johnson jadipevilbrucestupid stuff i see and hearBruce’s guy bookthe guy book

  10. BROWNBUGZ January 1, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    >Having peace is the main thing. Goodluck to you and to all of us. That's what I want too. http://brownbugz.blogspot.com

  11. The Empress January 1, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    >Here is one BIG batch of PEACE coming your way Rabbit! You will be missed on the blogging front but I hope we can stay in touch.Much love, The Empress

  12. Vencora January 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    >i haven't thought much yet about this year. it would be nice to chug down a big bottle of hope right about now, though, so maybe i'll let myself dream up something nice about 2011.

  13. ~L January 1, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    >riding the peace train with you MC…imagining creatively and shining with hope…love always and peace be with you ~~L

  14. The Barreness January 1, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    >ACK!!! But honey I would have paid ANYTHING for you to do my blog!!!*sulk*We'll miss you, sweetness.And we'll be here whenever, if ever you come back.Much love,- B x

  15. Mynx January 1, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    >"happiness" You deserve it. "Peace" also.The thought that I wont see you on my reading list saddens me, but I am being selfish. You have hinted several time that this is not working for you as it should and so it is time to reassess. I want to thankyou again for all the support you have given me and the wonderful badge you made just for me. I still hope that sometime if I ask you to redo Dribble for me, you will consider it. (I just wanted to get my crap sorted before asking properly) Fuck, I'm struggling not to cry. Fuck fuck fuck. Don't be surprised if your name pops up over at my place. I am a reactive blogger after all.Peace love and happiness Rabbit.2011 is the chinese year of the Rabbit. It's your year

  16. becca January 1, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    >peace and letting it be are two wonderful things to follow i will definitely miss your post but i totally get what you are saying. i hope we can stay in touch as you have become a very dear cyber friend but most of all i hope you find all you seek and that all you dream come true. may love and peace surround you always.hugs,becca

  17. Miss Nikki January 1, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    >That's sad. You're such a good guy, a giving person. Sorry to hear you got danged up the ass in the bad way ツ But, I know it's not permanent, you'll be back. And I'll still stalk you and admire your art of facebook…Prends soin de toi!

  18. Simple Dude January 1, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    >Not much I can add to what has been said by everyone else. You were one of the first blogs I came across when entering this world, which is a great thing since it gave me reason to keep coming back – and I've always been glad to send readers your way. We'll hear from you (and see your work) every so often I am sure, and that will have to be good enough for us. Just know that we're all here for ya. SD

  19. colenic January 1, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    >I found you relatively recently. I hope that you find the peace that you are looking for this year. You are incredibly talented, in your words, in your art and I feel honored that I have had the opportunity to witness your talents and will be looking for you on the flip side.Hugs and peace to you my friend.

  20. lyndylou January 1, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    >I am coming to your blog via Dribble and I am so sad to hear that you have had such a utterly crappy year! I hope you find peace and I was just listening to Let it Be today while watching a programme on Live Aid. Coincidence? I wish you all the best.http://lyndylou-whocares.blogspot.com

  21. Lynne H. January 1, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    >I am still mentally devising a work-around for some leftovers in my life.. but have no fear, I will get it ..I will only say..you are so very important to me.. i am but a text, call, email away..ever…

  22. Bukowski's Basement January 1, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    >Happy New Year, brother! It's been great getting to know you through this blog… Altho, I'm kinda bummed you said you'd be stepping back a bit. You're very prolific and damn… I could never blog more than 300 posts a year. I'd be lucky if I got to around 200. In any case, I still hope to see you around.

  23. gayle January 1, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    >I love your ~ peace and letting it be!! May all your dreams come true!

  24. Jackie January 1, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    >I am a new follower… found you through SimpleDude! I love this post and if you check out my blog, you will know that I can say from personal experience that if you do find inner PEACE, happiness eventually tags along for the ride :)In the next year I hope to find my beat again! I lost it a while back and am hoping to regain it this upcoming year. Happy New Year and Good Luck letting it be!http://jax9126.blogspot.com

  25. mice_aliling January 2, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    >The nerve of those freeloaders! Annoying! Inner peace, world peace…that's what everybody wishes for. And I wish it for you. I am still looking forward to your blogs. if you don't feel like blogging, don't. I have been blogging quite erratically and it's more pleasurable. I want to see more of the art and the poetry!

  26. Nubian January 2, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    >Not. Happy.

  27. Pat Tillett January 2, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    >I'm sorry to see you go, even if it's for just a while. I've met a while new group of folks through your blog and I like them all a lot. I always look forward to your posts and that won't stop, even if they don't pop up as often. You are truly a talented and great guy!Take care of yourself…

  28. nene January 2, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    >Damn! Wait, it's all about me. I'm new to this 'blog' thing. Started mine two years ago and I just found you 😦 Today was the first time I heard of you and by chance thought I'd come on board to read what someone else has to say about the 'human experience'(read hundreds throughout this world on a weekly basis). Love your simplicity, straightforwardness (love consolidating make up words). Ok I'll stop talking about me and reflect on what you've shared. Sorry about extreme angst you must have gone through this past year. Hey, if it makes you feel like your not alone; according to my ancestry calendar (Aztec) we, the human race only have till Dec. 22, 2012 then chaos will transition our existence and consequentially 'enlightment' and 'peace' shall prevail. Buena suerte en tu vida! Thanks for sharing.

  29. Mrs. Hyde January 2, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    >For so many years of my life I have longed to just have peace in my life. Every time someone asks me what I desire most or what I wish for, I always say peace. I have felt turmoil and chaos as a regular player in my life for so long that neither fame nor fortune could do anything to make me happy (not that I have either). I am saddened at just the thought that I won't simply be able to log on and find out how you're doing or experience your art in progress, but I understand your need to take a step back and re-order your priorities. And I respect it.Know that I am always here if you need someone to talk to, yell at, or cry with. My life was blessed the day that I discovered your blog and I will miss you. I'm such a fucking crybaby, so to fight back these tears I'm trying to hide from my kids, I'll end with something you told me once: Don't let life kick your ass without at least kicking back! I love you!

  30. Mystz January 2, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    >Damn Micael..I'm going to miss you, but I am in total understanding of your need to "step back"…You've shared and entertained here in so many ways. You've made me laugh, cry and sometimes angry towards those who have lamblasted you for sharing your thoughts and feelings, not too mention lastly, those who have taken advantage of you. For those who have done the latter deeds mentioned, Karma is indeed a bitch and well, "Let It Be" that it will come back to them tenfold for their actions.In any case Micael..I will continue to love you and have you in my thoughts and prayers while you seek Peace and to continue your life explorations.My resolution..much like yours..just to be, and in that to add to it, enlightenment with regards to education. Playing more is in there too. I need my inner child to come out more.May your 2011 be peaceful, educating and interesting, full of love from all you know and get to know.Til later my Dear one…x0x0x0x0x….

  31. Nydia January 3, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    >Keep the pace, Coelho. I'd hate to see you giving this break, but I respect if you choose to. But I would really hate it. :(I wish you a beautiful 2011, nothing less than this.Kisses and love from us.

  32. Nicki January 4, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    >You are one of my favorite bloggers because you always have something to say and you're never afraid to say it. No fluff here. You respect the medium. It's a lesson I could stand to learn–that we all could stand to learn. I respect your decision to step back and silence the pressure to post. We'll lap up what you give us and wait patiently until you do. No demands on our front. I wish you peace in 2011. And when you find it, kindly display a formula with some nice footnotes for the rest of us.Cheers,Nicki

  33. Nariane January 6, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    >Namaste

Comments are closed.