>New finds

29 Dec

>

Pam over at Pam T’s Art Loft turned me onto to the poet Mary Oliver, and I am hooked.  She’s posted a handful or so of her poems on her blog that have been so resonant to my own path of late.  She (Pam) also does the. most. amazing. art.  (I’m hooked on it too! I can’t tell you how long I just wander about her blog taking it all in.) The photo below is one of her pieces – and a favourite of mine – you know me and my trees and blackbirds; the poem is Mary Oliver.  It’s funny how just the right creators wander into our lives just when we need it the most.  Don’t miss either one.

Visitor by Pam Tucker

Wild Geese

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting–
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

© Mary Oliver

11 Responses to “>New finds”

  1. Jumble Mash December 29, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    >Wow what an amazing piece. Both the tree and the poem. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Lolamouse December 29, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    >very cool blog find! her tree and birds picture looks like it could be a relative of your recent artwork.

  3. Pat Tillett December 29, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    >they are both very good. The painting is amazing…

  4. Miss Nikki December 29, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    >I'm in absolute awe of this painting. Absolute awe.

  5. robertga99 December 29, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    >Wow, that is great stuff!

  6. Pam Tucker December 29, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    >Rabbit, Thank you SO MUCH! You've really touched my heart today! :)I discovered Mary Oliver a few years ago and have been a devoted follower of hers ever since. I am so glad to hear that you find her work resonates with you, as well.

  7. David Allen Waters December 29, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    >Both the poam and Pam Rock:)

  8. Vinny C December 29, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    >They're both amazingly talented.

  9. Toni December 29, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    >This is beautiful…art & words both. WOW.

  10. Vencora December 29, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    >i love that picture. and seeing it today has been symbolic for me. the connections i found in it for the truth of myself will have me introspective for probably the rest of the day. ^_^

  11. Jhon Baker December 30, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    >The first 3/4 of this have the scent of WCW about it – lovely –

Comments are closed.