>Unmary

25 Dec

>

the puzzle box
was opened
a family portrait
scattered
shattered
faces thrown
to the wind
one piece
mismatched
of a set
not set
in stone
like a birthday cake
left in the rain
edges water logged
swollen
unfitting
even in its own
pictured show
embraces come together
straight edges
interlocking smiles
locking out
the imperfect
imposter
amidst group hugs
and echoes
of horseshit guffaws

© 2010 by Micael Chadwick
All Right Reserved

14 Responses to “>Unmary”

  1. @OakBayBoy December 25, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    >Fanbloodytastic! I can hear it being recited aloud.

  2. Mynx December 25, 2010 at 2:58 am #

    >Interesting. It is making me think.Happy Christmas to you and your Family Rabbit. Hope it is a good one. Hugs 🙂

  3. Mystz December 25, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    >Eventually, the pieces all fit Micael, given the guffaws for everyone loves a rebel more than you think….x0x

  4. mel December 25, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    >oh. ouch.brilliantly written…have a holly-jolly…;)much love..xops. i am DIGGIN' the new decor here in the Land of Rabbit…:)

  5. Miss Nikki December 25, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    >I've often felt that way with my family… haven't we all? Isn't that where poetry comes from?

  6. The Absence of Alternatives December 25, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    >Warning: Boring comment to follow…LOVE THIS.

  7. Lolamouse December 25, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    >This was a perfect read for Christmas morning! I've often felt this way. Thank you for yet another great poem. I meant it when I said you should put together a book(s) of your poetry. I'd LOVE a copy. Love your background, BTW.

  8. ~L December 25, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    >Loved opening this gift of your words. Merry everything. ~L

  9. Vencora December 25, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    >*wipes away tear*

  10. dustus December 26, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    >Don't give up on your journey, Rabbit. Keep writing and inspiring hope…. Agree w/Mynx, i imagine this poem would sound excellent read aloud.

  11. Jhon Baker December 26, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    >okay – the last five lines – perfect, too perfect… I'll have to look into this.

  12. Mrs. Hyde December 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    >I was going to say how simultaneously lovely and sad this poem is…but is it sad really? If some of us didn't fight to NOT fit perfectly into the little space alloted us, we'd all be exactly the same. In a world where there are no Rabbits to make me think and care and to kick my ass when it needs kicking, I would be bored out of my mind. And boredom always get me into trouble.

  13. holly December 31, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    >This is perfect. When I spend a lot of time with the family (either his or mine), I think of how when I'm there I feel like I'm just killing time. How I am there, but not myself.

  14. Mel January 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    >Incredible

Comments are closed.