>Merry Whatever

22 Dec

>

“Fuck Christmas.”
He scribbled furiously in his twisted spiral notebook. The place was deserted.  Most people had better things to do tonight than wash their shitty drawers. There was nowhere to hang his stocking, if he even had one, in a fucking laundromat. There would be no Santa. It was supposed to snow. He just hoped no one would notice him and throw his ass out before morning. A stolen stack of quarters jacked from the payphone outside should last through the night to keep a dryer running for warmth.
Christmas would never be the same…  Ever.  Again.
“Fuck Christmas.”

© 2010 by Micael Chadwick
All Rights Reserved

27 Responses to “>Merry Whatever”

  1. Midwestern Mama Holly December 22, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    >speechlees. that is me. haunting and sad.

  2. Oilfield Trash December 22, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    >Wow, that is great.

  3. Toni December 22, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    >Wow. Yeah, that's all I can say. I'm speechless.

  4. David Allen Waters December 22, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    >you write with such passion and emotion…is this a true story from a past christmas?haunting

  5. Rabbit December 22, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    >Yeah, it is. From when I was a teenager.

  6. Miss Nikki December 22, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    >Wow. From when you were a teen? Cool! Hey, I have a little something something for you, come and check it out!Merry Christmas – bah humbug!

  7. Raven of the Green Mountains December 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    >I love this. Reminds me of me, when I was a teenager. 🙂

  8. Jane December 22, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    >I think I feel like this on the inside as I attempt to go through the motions of the shopping bullshit.

  9. Mrs. Hyde December 22, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    >You know what I love most about your writing? It reminds me to be grateful. When I think about how sad and depressed I was as a teenager and then I read about how you had no family around you on Christmas night, no holiday meal, not even a decent place to keep warm, I remember that no matter how hard I think I have it, there is always someone who is worse off than I am. I can't complain about a damn thing and I thank you for reminding me of that.

  10. becca December 22, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    >very haunting and sad and yet i feel this has happened. hugs

  11. Vencora December 22, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    >beautiful and sad. you certainly do have a talent for capturing a moment very precisely, fitting a moment into only 100 words without the reader ever feeling cheated.

  12. Jhon Baker December 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    >I've been there – Chicago winters, sleeping in doorways, public restrooms of truck stops, wow man, you captured it good.

  13. Rabbit December 22, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    >I think it's less about capturing, and more about remembering. I hoed that row more times than I would like to count.

  14. Lynne H. December 22, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    >Been there.. damn, do you realize most of us who commented have been there.. actuall being homeless @ Christmas was one of my best.. I was younger then though!!

  15. Caren Gittleman December 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    >so powerful….

  16. mel December 22, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    >the crappiest part is that this is more common than most folk would care to admit…you write of the ugliness with grace…it needs to be real like this for the people who choose not to see.~love.

  17. Vinny C December 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    >Wow. Powerful & intense. Excellent work, as always.

  18. FreeFlying December 22, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    >More! IN fact, could you just write a book, please?

  19. Lolamouse December 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    >Wow. You are one resilient Rabbit. Amazing and heartbreaking.

  20. bruce December 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    >great post…from the comments it appears not fiction…"there but for the grace of *god* *whomever* go i…"Brucebruce johnson jadipevilbrucestupid stuff i see and hearBruce’s guy bookthe guy book

  21. gayle December 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    >So sad but beautiful!

  22. The Empress December 23, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    >Rabbit you are amazingly skilled at capturing the emotion of a moment in time. This piece is an incredible reminder to be thankful for each and every blessing.Much love to you and may your Christmas be filled with all things merry and bright.http://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  23. Toni December 23, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    >I have a friend who lived in like this for months. Every time I would see him he would ask for a ride and some quarters. Thankfully things turned around for him. This Christmas he will be spending in a warm house with a new wife and baby. As always, I love your writing. Simply amazing.

  24. Pat Tillett December 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    >A fantastic piece of writing, I've been there, but no way I could express it as well as you.Merry Christmas to you and your family my friend! I'm happy for you, that you don't have to utter those words these days…

  25. jen December 23, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    >I would bring this man home with me and make his Christmas happy again–never say never. you and your writing and your mind and your spirit never cease to amaze me.

  26. Didactic Pirate December 24, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    >Now this is the kind of Christmas story I can get on board with.

  27. The Absence of Alternatives December 24, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    >With so few words you painted a haunting picture of Christmas for a lot of people, and probably even more this year.

Comments are closed.