>You are invited.

14 Dec

>

I really (really, this time) don’t have anything to blog about. I am trapped in a tornado of crazymakers, and expectations, and unknowns, and really funky, negative energy and don’t really know how to seek shelter from it.  I revisited this today, and thought I would share it.  Wise, wise words, these.

The Invitation
It doesn’t interest me what you do for a living. I want to know what you ache for, and if you dare to dream of meeting your heart’s longing.
It doesn’t interest me how old you are. I want to know if you will risk looking like a fool for love, for your dream, for the adventure of being alive.
It doesn’t interest me what planets are squaring your moon. I want to know if you have touched the center of your own sorrow, if you have been opened by life’s betrayals or have become shriveled and closed from fear of further pain!I want to know if you can sit with pain, mine or your own, without moving to hide it or fade it, or fix it.
I want to know if you can be with joy, mine or your own, if you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you to the tips of your fingers and toes without cautioning us to be careful, to be realistic, to remember the limitations of being human.
It doesn’t interest me if the story you are telling me is true. I want to know if you can disappoint another to be true to yourself; if you can bear the accusation of betrayal and not betray your own soul; if you can be faithlessand therefore trustworthy.
I want to know if you can see beauty even when it’s not pretty, every day,and if you can source your own life from its presence.
I want to know if you can live with failure, yours and mine, and still stand on the edge of the lake and shout to the silver of the full moon, “Yes!”
It doesn’t interest me to know where you live or how much money you have. I want to know if you can get up, after the night of grief and despair, weary and bruised to the bone, and do what needs to be done to feed the children.
It doesn’t interest me who you know or how you came to be here. I want to know if you will stand in the center of the fire with me and not shrink back.
It doesn’t interest me where or what or with whom you have studied. I want to know what sustains you, from the inside, when all else falls away.
I want to know if you can be alone with yourself and if you truly like the company you keep in the empty moments.
by Oriah Mountain Dreamer
Copyright © 1999 by Oriah Mountain Dreamer
14 Responses to “>You are invited.”

  1. Georgina Dollface December 14, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    >I'm kind of feeling the same way as you right now – except for the crazymakers. They aren't scheduled to arrive until next week and so I've got a little time to pull it together. I like the new look of the blog – the black on white is much easier for me to read. Have you thought of archiving this year's work into one of those hardcover books that you can order online? You've got such rich written and illustrated stuff here. – G

  2. Caren Gittleman December 14, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    >Amen….thanks for making us THINK…..xoxoCat Chat http://opcatchat.blogspot.com

  3. Laugh. It's Life in Progress December 14, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    >Thank you! Needed that again today. It's been one of those types of meh things for a couple weeks here. *hugs* Rabbit! Chin up!

  4. mel December 14, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    >*sigh*you know, this is the second time in a very short while that i've come across this….i'm getting that crossroad-ish feeling…it's either that or the run-screaming-into-the-woods feeling. :)thanks for this….and i hope things are settling down chez vous…mad forays into self-hairstyling notwithstanding…:)xo

  5. colenic December 14, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    >Thank you for sharing this- I may post a link back to this on my blog if you don't mind.

  6. Rabbit December 14, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    >By all means, Colenic. It's too good not to share.

  7. The Absence of Alternatives December 14, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    >Thank you for this. I was going to quote some of the lines that esp. resonate with me but then found it would be the entire post.

  8. DW December 14, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    >I'm in a bit of a dry spell myself, no insperation….but I love the first lines of the invitation…brilliant;)

  9. Nariane December 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    >Love this poem!I could use a *pow* about now… 😉

  10. Kate December 14, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    >I adore that piece. When I am forming relationships and friendships I'm wanting more than just a superficial acquaintance. I want to share my soul with someone and for them to share theirs with me. Sometimes I think I ask too much of relationships and will never find the depth I seek. Perhaps that depth doesn't even exist. It makes me sad to think this might be the case.Kate x

  11. becca December 14, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    >very in depth poem and one to make you think. thank you for posting and for getting the wheels in my head turning.

  12. Lovesick Fool December 14, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    >I love this!! Beautiful words =)I'm also lacking inspiration right now. I'm very blank.

  13. Pat Tillett December 14, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    >Talk about food for thought!

  14. Mystz December 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    >Strangely enough Micael, a reader gave to me a three page letter of a reading he did for me. Magpie will lead the way he said, I just need to let go and follow, but firstly, I MUST dig deep and let things inside come to the surface. Then, I read this. It not only hits home for me, but for certain others I care for around me. My only slump is that life is too busy too stop and smell roses, and boy, do I ever need to, very badly….Thanks for sharing this timely poem..much appreciated as is all things you share. And, I hope you beat your own blahs sooner than later..

Comments are closed.