>Art Journal

11 Dec

>I have been spending way too much money on art supplies lately. But there’s worse things to spend money on, right? (!!!)

This is my new project. I found this fantastic 100 page sketchbook at the art store yesterday. I am going to use it as an Art Journal. Each page will be a piece of art of some sort. I think it will be cool to have an entire journal of nothing but 100 pieces of art. This is my first “entry” and title page. It’s a watercolour called “the heART of it” to go along with a new blog page I am working on to serve as a gallery of all the different pieces I have done over the years – and new art to come.

Today we have the twins for the day and are all getting ready to go to a tattered old antique/junque place here near the house. We’re super excited. Can’t wait to see what we can’t live without.

Hope y’all are havin’ a fantastic weekend.

19 Responses to “>Art Journal”

  1. Pearl December 11, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    >I absolutely love spending my money on notebooks, pens, and my very favorite thing: weekend writing getaways. 🙂 Art products would be even more fun, I think…Pearl

  2. Midwestern Mama Holly December 11, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    >What a great idea!! I love rummaging through junk stores and antique stores and finding what I cant live without ! Have fun & Love Rabby #1 in the book.

  3. Simple Dude December 11, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    >That is a great idea.. and when the book is full you can always buy another one and start over. Be sure to keep us updated as the pages fill!SDsimpledudecomplexworld.blogspot.com

  4. mice_aliling December 11, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    >I've been told that I have the same birthday as the twins. I can't believe we are working on the same thing. I just spent more than US$300 on art supplies for the past 3 days. And is in the middle of an art journal project for a class. 🙂 Yay, I'm so excited to see what you've got!

  5. Lolamouse December 11, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    >Great to hear you sound so excited! And, yes, I can think of MANY worse things to spend money on, so ENJOY!!! I love the Rabbit-still trying to decipher his expression…any hints?

  6. mel December 11, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    >oh yeah…i keep telling myself there are worse habits than an art-supply addiction…which goes along nicely with my book addiction and my inability to pass by an acorn lying on the ground…LOVE your first page…and can't wait to see what treasures you find today…JOY!!xo

  7. Kate December 11, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    >That's a fab painting and I love the name too!It'll be so wonderful to have all that art in the one book.Enjoy it!Kate x

  8. David Waters December 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    >love the page;) and I think your idea of a art journal is brilliant.cheers

  9. Lynne H. December 11, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    >What fun that art journal will be.. Also a great way to have all of your inspirational pieces in one tidy book.. I must do something with my shoebowes full of scribbles..Enjoy your day my dear!!

  10. Vencora December 11, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    >i've always been a little jealous of artists ^_^

  11. The Empress December 11, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    >I love your first entry in your art journal. What a great way to document your creativity. Please keep us posted with photos of your future entries. Have a great weekend and much love to you my friend!http://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  12. Marlene December 11, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    >Three big cheers for ART!!!!! Love this! Looking forward to seeing LOTS MORE from you. 🙂 (No pressure, or anything…….ok, maybe just a little!)

  13. Oilfield Trash December 11, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    >That is an awesome picture.

  14. The Absence of Alternatives December 12, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    >Love that picture. Do you want us to bug you about keeping your journal or are you one of those people with will power that are capable of following through?

  15. Aimee Jeffries December 12, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    >I can't think of anything better to spend money on, the great art supply addiction 🙂 Have you heard of Tam of Willowing.ning(com)? She has a free class ongoing there, originally called "The Heart of Art", but changed to "Art, Heart and Healing"(some sort of copyright issue). It's all about art journaling. Her motto is "Don't be afraid of how awesome you are". I'm a sucker for her accent, so everything she says is utterly charming, but that kicks ass no matter how you say it 🙂

  16. Vinny C December 12, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    >I've always been fascinated by art but lack the talent myself – unless stick people count.Anyway, love the first one. Looking forward to the rest.

  17. Raven of the Green Mountains December 12, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    >It is never a waste of money when it is something that you are passionate about.

  18. becca December 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    >sounds like a fun project

  19. Nariane December 13, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    >more talent??Dammit Rabbit… now I feel grossly under-talented ;)I'll be watching! sounds like alot of fun!

Comments are closed.