>I’ve been…

4 Dec

>

…a crappy blogger lately. I’ve been unreceptive. I’ve been unresponsive. I’ve not been reading or commenting like I once did. I feel like I should apologize, but I don’t feel apologetic. So I’d rather not lie to you.
My life has been whispering to me lately. Writings have been pouring onto the page by the GALLON. A thousand inspirations have stood up and demanded attention. I discover watercolours and fell in love. I bought paper. I bought markers. I bought my own set of watercolours. I bought more markers. And glue. And stuff… My artist’s soul is boiling over.
AIDS Day this year blindsided me. I am always an activist. Have been for a great many years. I prepared this year as always. Didn’t think twice of it. And then it came. And I realized, this is for me this time.  All this work about bringing awareness to the disease.  All the efforts to get people tested, and educated and taken care of.  Honouring those living with HIV, and remembering those that have gone before us.  This year – as an HIV+ man – it was about me…  And then to see the huge collective effort on the web, in the media, and in person just touched me in ways I hadn’t expected.  I felt so, so blessed.  People came to me with their stories.  People related the ways in which they contributed on Wednesday, and I was moved beyond words.  And then, to make the day even more special, my mother gave me a gift of a Nola Saints hat, shirt, and throw blanket.  Talk about icing on the cake.  I hadn’t any Saints memorabilia – my one lone beloved shirt had an unfortunate run in with chlorine bleach and was ruined.  So now I have something to wear on game days and when we win the Super Bowl again this year.  Anyway, it was an amazing day all around.  I met a ton of fabulous new people.  Made new friends.  Gained new perspective.  And acquired the ambition to do more.  Work harder.  And give back to all those who give so much to me.
I have so much more to ramble on about but as this has already become insanely long, I will close with links to three blogs who have awarded The Journey recently.  I am very touched.  I often feel this this blog is just a mindlessly meandering mess.  Then y’all come along and slap stickers up and make me smile all over again.  I don’t recall all the rules and regs that go along with the awards.  I will hunt them down and post all that in a later piece, but in the meantime go check out Can U Relate?, My Life, and Dribble.  Three vastly different blogs and all wildly entertaining in their own right.  Something for everyone.
Hope blessing abound in your world.  More soon.

Oh and p.s. – There’s also still time to get in on the ornament drive if you’d like to participate.

14 Responses to “>I’ve been…”

  1. Midwestern Mama Holly December 4, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    >And I hope that the blessings abound in your world as well dear rabbit.

  2. Rene/ Not The Rockefellers December 4, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    >when your muse has you by the ear you just keep listening and keep on creating…that's the car that drives you to this blog…remember that 🙂

  3. Cinderita December 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    >I am so happy to see you here. Thank you for still being here. Your words make a difference in my everyday. May you be blessed w/even more. xxPS..I'd like to have you guest blog soon. I hope you'll say yes.

  4. Jhon Baker December 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    >best listen to the muse while she is whispering lest she silence and rest awhile.

  5. mice_aliling December 4, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    >I love water colors, too. That is just fab… 🙂 I will be doing a lot of painting this month hopefully 🙂

  6. David Waters December 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    >Dude, you ROCK! seriously. 🙂

  7. hed December 5, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    >I'm glad you're doing alright! Again, I hope when you have time, you'll share with us your art or writing-if you feel like it, of course!hed http://www.hedabovewater.com

  8. Mynx December 5, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    >Thankyou darl'n for the shoutout. I read this while the music from your other post is playing for me. I am so thrilled you are feeling creative and you have nothing to apologise for. Let me know when you get mail from Aus ok?. Hugs

  9. Pat Tillett December 5, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    >It's more than okay not to read or comment while you're inspired. Just go where it takes you! I'm happy to hear that you are feeling inspired. Run with it!

  10. Lynne H. December 5, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    >Never apologize for being alive… we love you!!!

  11. becca December 5, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    >if i've said this once i've said it a hundred times to people NEVER and I mean NEVER apologize for being you and for doing what makes you happy it is the one thing in life no one can take away from you. as for feeling blessed i hope you hold onto that feeling and that you are continuely blessed in the future.Hugs.

  12. Mystz December 5, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    >There is crap in blogging alright but YOU do not fit in this category not now or ever, so don't apologise.I can't wait to see what you're pouring your soul into with the watercolors. Pour Baby POUR, but DO share as soon as you can!

  13. Marlene December 5, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    >So glad to hear you're creating art!!!

  14. The Empress December 6, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    >It's wonderful that your creative spirit is roaring! I could lose myself for hours with markers and a sketch pad, so I totally understand how you could be inspired to load up on art supplies. Please promise that you will post photos of your latest creations. You are such a talented and amazing person. Much love!

Comments are closed.