>PLEASE READ & PASS IT ON: Seeing Red

1 Dec

>

Today has really caught me off guard. It’s my first World AIDS Day living (knowingly) with HIV. It’s very definitive. I didn’t expect this well spring of emotion. I logged onto to Facebook and Twitter and the whole world has gone red. It took my breath away.
Thank you.
It’s such an odd feeling and I don’t really know what to say. I am on the panel for an online Q&A today for Poz. I don’t know that I am qualified to answer anyone’s questions about Living with HIV as I am only just learning to do so myself. I am more than a bit nervous. But I want to do what I can, to do my part for the cause. I also ask that you get tested. If there was ever one moment that might have put you at risk, you owe it to yourself to get tested. All it takes is that one time – one incident. It is supposed that I was living with the virus for a decade before I got sick. Trust me when I tell you that you do not want to go through dying like I did this summer with this disease. As scary as it may be, you are better off knowing and getting help and treatment now. There are so many advances in the medical world now that you needn’t ever get as sick as I did. It’s no longer a death sentence. It can be managed. Below are several resources with information regarding HIV and AIDS, as well as utilities to find a testing facility near you. Please have a look and please pass it on. You never know who’s life you might be saving.  And as they say, living with HIV is NOT dying of AIDS.

Do feel free to pass these sites along.  If you know of any others that you’d like to share, please feel free to leave a comment with the site’s address. And for those of you struggling with the disease, hang in there.  I know how hard it can be.  I know there are days when you just want to throw your hands up and let it all go.  Don’t.  Keep on keeping on.  You do matter.  People do care.  Simply, don’t give up.
And thank you so much to all of you that have ‘gone Red’ today.  It touched me more than I would have ever imagined.  It may just be a colour on a website and people think it’s foolish or unimportant.  But it does matter.  I have never felt more surrounded than I have today seeing everyone taking part.  Thank you again.

21 Responses to “>PLEASE READ & PASS IT ON: Seeing Red”

  1. ~L December 1, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    >Hope your day is inspi(RED)…hugs, ~L.

  2. Midwestern Mama Holly December 1, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    >I too wrote about AIDS/HIV today and my personal experiences with it. Ive kind of been in this thing since the very early days of it. Thank you for being so honest about your experiences… yes it can be and is being managed and is no longer the death sentence it once was and people need to know this. Thank you for passing this along.

  3. ThePeachy1 December 1, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    ><3 ya

  4. Georgina Dollface December 1, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    >Thanks for this! I just linked to your post and I've updated mine. I'm wearing red today. – G

  5. Krissy December 1, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    >Never think you are unqualified to give advice or opinions on living with something just because of length of time. If nothing else, you are going to help those who are new to finding out they have HIV to figure out how to deal with the beginning steps of it. After all, those are usually the ones searching for answers more than others, right?http://talkativetaurus.blogspot.com/

  6. The Absence of Alternatives December 1, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    >By sharing your experience, the whole process, you will be helping someone out there more than any "scholar" or "expert" could ever do. I am thinking of you today. {{{{hugs}}}} You have inspired me to learn more about AIDS/HIV and to talk about it. Yes, there seems to be a complacence within the US. Indeed we need to spread the word. p.s. Love the photo. And love the Chinese character too in your signature.

  7. Lolamouse December 1, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    >got my red on. again, thanks for looking beyond yourself and reaching out to others. you rock.

  8. Kate December 1, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    >I've got my red ribbon on.I love that song: Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush are both wonderful.Your blog is so inspirational, Micael.Kate x

  9. Caren Gittleman December 1, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    >thank you so much for this most important message.As someone else said, please do not ever think you are underqualified to give advice….you are living this condition every single day, who better than to help others?You are one of the kindest people that I have the pleasure of knowing.

  10. Miriam Short - Poncer December 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    >Love you ❤

  11. David Dust December 1, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    >Your post just made me realize the obvious – this is also MY first World AIDS Day living (knowingly) with HIV/AIDS.XOXOXO

  12. Jhon Baker December 1, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    >I can't believe that I didn't know world AIDS day. I will have to make up for this right now. Thank you for the information.

  13. Lynne H. December 1, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    >This is why I call you Warrior Man… I have been working with Project Red and Data.org for many years.. It's heros like you that tell the world, YES WE CAN AND YES WE DO……LIVE!!!!!!

  14. becca December 1, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    >hugs and i so pimped this post out..hugs

  15. mel December 1, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    >bless you…you wonderful man for sharing your story with the world…((((hugs))))i was at work all day today…but was holding you in my heart…xops. tested – and clear…:)

  16. Magaly Guerrero December 1, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    >Today, I was the first of 99 people who stood in the rain to go in a van for speed testing. We (community volunteers) were a bit nervous. It was raining like crazy, so we thought no one would show up. I've never felt so good to be wrong! We had many couples and even a family (a single mom and two teenagers!)It is so great to see red everywhere. Those of us who have been trying to promote HIV/AIDS awareness for a while, know that things are changing (slowly) but the change is happening. We owe that to individuals like you. A few years ago, I had to make my home visits secretly (I was a case manager for HIV positive individuals). People were scared… you and many like you are promoting courage. I admire you.Blessings and a HUMONGOUS hug to you my dear!

  17. David Waters December 1, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    >You can't see it, But I'm giving you a standing o right now…BRAVO my friend for standing up and sharing.hugs

  18. The Empress December 1, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    >Thanks for doing your bit to promote this very worthy message. Times have changed and big strides have been made when it comes to medical treatment. By educating the world, risk can be minimized and lives can be saved. Blessings to all of those impacted by the disease and especially to the dear souls we have lost. Here is to finding a cure. Much love. xo

  19. Mynx December 2, 2010 at 6:20 am #

    >Much love and hugs, you have been in my thoughts yesterday and today.

  20. pattypunker December 2, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    >i'm so sorry you were so sick for too long. but it's great to know you are now benefiting from medical advances and helping others by spreading the word. you rule, rabbit. (((hugs)))

  21. Toni December 4, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    >I missed out on this day…I was off battling bullies! Sorry. Please know that I am thinking of you and everyone else dealing with HIV & AIDS. You are my color red (and if I could draw a heart & color it red, I would insert it here). I love you!

Comments are closed.