>Don’t Say Good-Bye

24 Nov

>

It had become less and less personal. The daily drivel that drew his audience had dwindled into obscurity. The life had been literally sucked out of him. He and his work were nothing more than a shell of what once was. A faded marquee sign with more bulbs busted than burning… More shadows than light.
He tidied up before leaving. Swept the floor; made sure all the doors and windows were closed tight to the outside world. He didn’t want to leave a mess for anyone else to clean up.
Taking one last look around, he marked to memory everything in its place.
He turned of the light and closed the door, locking it behind him.
14 Responses to “>Don’t Say Good-Bye”

  1. The Absence of Alternatives November 24, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    >You. Don't say goodbye.

  2. Georgina Dollface November 24, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    >Ditto to the above. Don't say goodbye. Today is the anniversary of the death of Freddie Mercury, someone who, for some reason, I always felt I was destined to meet. It just won't happen for me on this mortal plane. – G

  3. Toni November 24, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    >I really hope this isn't you saying goodbye. I was just thinking yesterday that I was sad you hadn't posted anything…

  4. David Waters November 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    >I'm new to your blog, but have loved it…I hope the above is just a beautiful verse you've written and not your intent:(

  5. bruce November 24, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    >life is squallor…we need to force it to be tidy…once again, you impress…the piece draws its own picture but the picture enforces the piece.art is what your blog is…don't say goodbye…just say good night…oh and get us another crazy thanksgiving story!!!

  6. Mynx November 24, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    >I'm with the others, you better not dissappear on us lovely Rabbit. My kids rabbit did that, just dissappeared. Here one day, gone the next. Not nice.

  7. Lynne H. November 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    >I am going to email you tonight all the NOLA deets.. so until then, no goodbyes..Deal?BTW-this is a well written piece my friend..

  8. Jhon Baker November 24, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    >this forces my brain to think about Mark Linkous and his last album made with Danger mouse and David Lynch.

  9. Marlene November 24, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    >Are you ok? 😦

  10. becca November 24, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    >please tell me this is not goodbye i adore your blog and your writing it is a highlight of my day.

  11. Pat Tillett November 24, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    >I don't know what to say about this. It's a great piece of writing, but I hope you're talking about somebody else…

  12. Cinderita November 25, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    >I would've said all those things above, if all those folks hadn't beat me to it. Goodbye? You? To us? No. I won't have it.

  13. Semi True Torystellar November 25, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    >I just found you. You can't leave now. For what its worth you have some blog loving over at my place….come check it out. http://www.rantsravesfactsandfics.blogspot.com

  14. Mustang Sally November 26, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    >Powerful piece, you struck a nerve. It had a very real finality (yes, I'm quite sure that isn't grammatically right, but that you still know what I mean). There aren't many blogs packed with "real". Yours is one, and it's needed … as are you. I've not been around long enough to be sure you are NOT talking about you. I sure hope you're not.

Comments are closed.