>beneath Wonderland

21 Nov

>

i hear the howls
realizing
from a distance
they were my own
a rabbit silenced
by deaths
unlived
escaping my burrow
i blink blindly
in a landscape
barren and
unfamiliar
wondering if
not the darkness
of my den
is the lesser of
true evils

© 2010 by Micael Chadwick
All Rights Reserved.

19 Responses to “>beneath Wonderland”

  1. David Waters November 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    >dark and powerful….such imagery you paint with words. Brilliant

  2. Pearl November 21, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    >I wonder as well.Tell me: is it winter yet where you live?Pearl

  3. bruce November 21, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    >i agree with David…dark and powerful absolutely…but i also feel loss and uncertainty as a major theme…life is just a gateway to death is also a bit of the imagery i see…

  4. Rabbit November 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    >Thanks, David. And no, Pearl, it's not winter.I think perhaps the loss and uncertainty, Bruce, is the HIV/AIDS playing through it all (that deifinitely sums it up in a nutshell, if nothing else). Not really certain, but it is certainly is a prevalent theme of late…

  5. Pat Tillett November 22, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    >A great poem Micael. Deep and dark. I know that I sure don't have the answer…

  6. Mynx November 22, 2010 at 3:56 am #

    >Wow. Each time I read this I feel something different.

  7. Odie Langley November 22, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    >It is deep and powerful & has me thinking

  8. Jumble Mash November 22, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    >Powerful indeed. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Lolamouse November 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    >very powerful, dark, anxiety filled. fear of the unknown is the worst fear of all…

  10. pattypunker November 22, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    >that is a conundrum for sure. sometimes i don't know if i'd rather be alone or among people. and too often i make the wrong choice.

  11. Jhon Baker November 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    >made me think of Plato and his cave. I think most people if not all people prefer to only see their reality and could not be brought to focus on the actuality of the world.

  12. Marlene November 22, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    >I'm an idiot when it comes to poetry. (Believe me, I'm the first to admit it.) What you have written here, however, IS dark, and I'm guessing that's the point you were trying to make. Thank you so much for the birthday wishes – and yes, I'm probably ALMOST old enough to be your mother. 😉

  13. becca November 22, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    >you always amaze and capitvate me with your writing

  14. Rabbit November 22, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    >Y'all really do know how to make a guy feel good. I get frustrated and can't write for shit and just throw something up out of spite, and you eat it up.You ARE allowed to hate something too. I won't mind. But thanks for all the positive feedback. It makes a world of difference.

  15. Lynne H. November 23, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    >So tell me Micael..did it hurt when you cut that vein to let these emotions bleed onto the page? You dug deep and deep is good..Love the picture.. very film noir…

  16. Mrs. Hyde November 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    >And THAT is why they want to publish your poetry. Everything you write is powerful. We eat it up not because we don't want to be mean or negative, but because it's fucking awesome.

  17. mice_aliling November 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    >The photo scared the shit out of me. The poetry is piercing. More plesase

  18. Toni November 24, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    >Did you know that you are my favorite writer?? You are. And you happen to be the guy that I love in a mushy way 🙂

  19. The Absence of Alternatives November 24, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    >You look like a wolf child in the picture. I am already looking forward to your book tour!

Comments are closed.