>People are People (which is why I love my dog)

12 Nov

>

It seems the whole world is on the offensive lately.  Or it’s comprised entirely of jackholes and titty babies.  I am having a hard time telling which.
I moderate an open forum of bloggers that I just recently began.  It’s intent was to be a collective of blog authors networking and sharing various bits and bobs about blogging.  Unfortunately, over the past few days it degenerated into more of a foul-mouthed and gabby free for all about absolutely nothing of couth.  So be it.  I probably should have nipped it in the bud more than I did rather than letting it run amok and spiral into what it did, but I didn’t.  I just let it be as it was a private group (although a public forum within that group).  I am not one for censorship, really, regardless of however trashy it may have been.  This morning, I log on to find that my group has now been red flagged for questionable content.  It seems that someone within the group filed a complaint to the higher ups that run the website and we are now under review.  
Grrrrr…
It upsets me on a couple of levels.  First of all, the crapping on the rug I find rather offensive.  That people would choose to post and discuss things that they would not necessarily post of their own volition in their own public spaces speaks volumes.  If you would not post or say things in public where people know and see you and your name/entity attached to it, why would you do it at or on someone else’s place.  But that is really just a matter of tact or class or taste…  Whatever.  The thing that really bothers me is that whomever it was that had a problem with it did not come to me and allow me the opportunity to rectify the situation.  Granted not everyone that is in the group knows me well enough yet to perhaps approach me, I just wish that they would have come to me first rather than going over my head.
I don’t know what the future of my little forum will be now.  I guess time will tell.  I am hoping that the higher ups will see that it was nothing more than just poor judgement and lack of proper etiquette on the part of those posting the offensive material and not something malicious in content rather than shutting us down…  But it’s really given me pause to reevaluate the group, its current state, and what is deemed acceptable.  This is not at all what my intent with the group was and I am uncertain as to how to go about reclaiming and reestablishing that original vision.
And – for the record –  it just pisses me the fuck off, damn it, that people gotta go in and crap on my rug all the time!!!
So there.
12 Responses to “>People are People (which is why I love my dog)”

  1. Miss Nikki November 12, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    >I somehow feel responsible for being part of having things get out of hand. And I'm sorry. Let's see how things go with the stupidity of our being "reported" and I'll try to remain more orderly… (hangs head in shame) It was fun while it lasted!Please don't give up on us! We'll behave.

  2. Mrs. Hyde November 12, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    >I don't know what to say. I found one of the posts offensive and I said as much to the author. After I posted my comment, I didn't go back to the page, so I don't know if I started something that spiraled out of control. As I am a bitch, but certainly not a whore, I didn't report anything to anyone because I believe that people are entitled to speak their minds, whether I agree with them or not. I don't really know what's going on, but please email me if there's something you want to say to me that you didn't want to post.Then again if I'm making something about me that has nothing to do with me, feel free to tell me to shut the fuck up.

  3. fire in the hooooole November 12, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    >he should've not say anything if there's nothing good at it. that someone maybe is in the opposition and can't level your intelligence because you're witty, did you know?? but i hope you could gain the group back..,

  4. Vencora November 12, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    >man, now i'm curious. too bad i don't know how to use the internet. 😛

  5. Jhon Baker November 12, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    >The first problem was expecting others to act in such a way as for the betterment of all the others. People behind the mask of the internet will not act as they would with the mask even partially removed and you well pointed out. Solution? post what they said on the forum to their page. Or require reasoned arguments to given opinions. This last one I would love to see mandated – I have never believed that it is a right to express an opinion without further requiring the emoter to properly justify or defend the opinion through reasoned discourse.

  6. Nariane November 12, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    >The problem with the internet is that we can be whomsoever we want to be. Some people are themselves, and some people use an alias.Some people using aliases feel a freedom to use poor judgement, lack of proper etiquette, or just generally be offensive and belligerent (crapping on the rug, as it were) because they can without any of the social, legal, physical, or moral consequences they'd face in real life. Smacks of rank cowardice…Hence why I've fled from most online forums

  7. Cinderita November 12, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    >Love the new look!And I hear ya. What more can I say..I. Hear. You.

  8. Midwestern Mama Holly November 12, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    >Sadly Im pretty much the same in real life as I am online. Scary but true…

  9. Lynne H. November 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    >Yeah what Jhon said.. post it to their page.. I missed all the action.damn.. where was I?and yeah it makes me angry that instead of coming to you, they cowardly reported you.. Not nice at all..Gee Micael, I'm sorry..it wasn't me but still feel bad as I know what a super fair person you are.. haters..

  10. Marlene November 12, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    >Awww sheesh, are you kidding me?!!! I'm part of that little group! Granted, I haven't been on the page much lately, so I didn't know about the content, but STILL….don't people have better things to do than tattle?

  11. The Absence of Alternatives November 13, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    >Now I need to go back and read everything to find out the questionable content! 😉 Hey, there is a Chinese saying: There is a hole for each turnip. (It does NOT have anything to do with SEX!) It means people are different. I am just sad that the person did not find the right hole and had to resort to such petty behavior when they found out it's the wrong hole. Just leave the hole. Sheesh. (STILL not about sex. Thank you.)

  12. gayle November 13, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    >I guess I am out of the loop cause I'm not sure what site you are talking about…….just wanted to say I am sick of people that can't come to me first when they have a problem that has to do with me. This just happened to me recently at work……a mom went to the principal about me ….why in the world she didn't come to me first about her poor little daring daughter getting her feelings hurt because her coloring wasn't as good as someone elses.

Comments are closed.