>Rabbit Drabble: Jump, Mother Fucker. Jump!

9 Nov

>

The bus stank. It reeked of desperation, Jheri Curl, and day old sweat… but also smelled of freedom. 
Each day carried me a little further from home and a little closer to the truth. 
I had nothing: no money, plan, no clue… no identity. I just knew what had to be done. 
That was plan enough. 
There’s a certain hope in no longer existing. When you are not who you were you have no past to run from anymore. 
You have no apologies. 
You have no mistakes. 
It’s a clean slate doused in kerosene, just waiting to burn. 
I took the leap.

(…or if you prefer:  I lit the match.)

© 2010 | Micael Chadwick
13 Responses to “>Rabbit Drabble: Jump, Mother Fucker. Jump!”

  1. Jane November 9, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    >I love this so much. I really like the part about a clean slate doused in kerosene….I think I'm slowly arriving to that point in my journey. I am so ready to burn like a big brilliant bon fire.

  2. Toni November 9, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    >I loved this. It might be my favorite. : )

  3. Laugh. It's Life in Progress November 9, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    >Great post Rabbit! Burning and starting over, sounds like a good place to start for sure.

  4. becca November 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    >I ❤ the post.

  5. Mrs. Hyde November 9, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    >As a matter of fact, I DO prefer 'I lit the match.' I love poetry about freedom. I've always wanted to run away and start over. Then I had kids. Now all my dreams are dead.

  6. The Empress November 9, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    >I love the powerful and emotive image that accompanies this post. Freedom is a beautiful thing! …And for those who feel stuck, remember that we are the authors of our own destiny and can re-write the script any time we see fit. xohttp://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  7. Marlene November 9, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    >You're awesome. 🙂

  8. Mystz November 9, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    >Oddly enough, three of us walked in.to work today with the same reality of feeling like hampsters on a wheel, getting up to the same scenarios each day, moving but going no where. Then I read this post, which makes me want to RUN for the kerosene AND the match. Great thoughts and timing..

  9. mice_aliling November 10, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    >Is there a super like button here?

  10. Vencora November 10, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    >nice one, sugar. i love your voice in these drabbles. the way you word everything and cut right to the core. fantastic.

  11. gayle November 10, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    >Sometimes I wish I could!!Great post!!

  12. The Absence of Alternatives November 11, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    >First of all I love the new look. I have a question for you: most of the time I just want to gush and tell you how much I love the way you use words and how you string them together in a way that I didn't see at all. But I worry that if I just leave a comment that says, I love this, after a while it may sound insincere and lame. But honestly I have nothing more brilliant to contribute in the comment. Would you grant me the permission to come and click the "LIKE" button each time?

  13. Rabbit November 11, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    >Just for you, I added the star rating feature just below the comment link! But don't think I don't also still love the comments!

Comments are closed.