>Funny how that works…

8 Nov

>

I really expected to log in and see that all of you had abandoned ship.  Turns out I have an assload of comments, and once again I merely said what everyone else seems to be thinking.
The Guest Blogger bit seemed to be a success as well!  I’m glad.  I have so many outstanding readers that it’s nice to highlight some bloggers that you might not come across otherwise.  Would love to have more of you contribute for next week.  Just let me know if you’d like to have something up.  It can be anything, really, from your rambling to poetry to your photography or artworks.  I’m open for anything.
Ran into a road block with NaNo, but sitting right at 20,000 words at only eight days in I am not too worried yet.  The story is filling out nicely and am pleased with it thus far.  I may create a separate blog and post it chapter by chapter as it fleshes itself out.  Have not decided yet.  Writing is very personal to me and I am hesitant to expose it to the harsh light of day before it is fully developed.  Will have to wait and see.
Finally finished my Art Swap piece.  It went somewhere totally different from where it originally began.  Some people like the original concept better; some like the finishes result.  I like it now far better than where it began, but to each their own.  I am coming to realize that sunshiney, “happy” art is just not me.  I try time and time again and am never happy with it.  Once I let it go raw and dark(er), it blossoms.  I get stuck in this mindset that I should be happier, more positive, more la-ti-dah – but it never works.  That is not where my art is birthed and it always feels inauthentic when I attempt it.  Need to learn to listen to myself.  My writing and poetry seems to be the same way.  Listen to that screeching banshee of a muse, damn it.  This is not Xanadu and that bitch sure as fuck aint Olivia Newton John…
Anyway – will post pics of it later today.  Have a hundred projects I am working on and a dirty house to clean, so I need to follow my own damned advice and unass this chair and step the hell away from the computer.
Y’all have a good week or I will have to start hollerin’ at y’all next.  And do let me know if you’d like to Guest spot.
8 Responses to “>Funny how that works…”

  1. Kate November 8, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    >It's true that art, be it writing, visual art, music, whatever, has to come from your deepest thoughts and emotions. You can't force your art to be happy or cheery if that's not how you feel because it's not being true to the very essence of what makes you you. This is why I appreciate all your writing so much. It's so real and comes from somewhere deep. You said "Writing is very personal to me" and we, your readers, can really feel that.Kate x

  2. Midwestern Mama Holly November 8, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    >What Kate said!

  3. Rabbit November 8, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    >Thanks y'all! You're peaches.

  4. AmberLaShell November 8, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    >That is a good number to be sitting at this early in the game. I had let myself get a couple of days behind and had to play catch up yesterday, so I am sitting at about 12,000 words right now. My writing is also very personal and I am fighting with the temptaion to put a little piece of it out there. Good luck!

  5. Lynne H. November 8, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    >What Kate and Midwestern Mama Holly said.. and might I add.. I am thrilled to see you involved in theseprojects, getting out more and just in general enjoying..Makes lynnie muy happy!!!!

  6. Mustang Sally November 8, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    >We all know we get our best work comes from being inspired. And we all have different muses from which we receive said inspiration. Some people may get Tinkerbell as theirs, maybe it's the luck of the draw, but some of us get soulful mourners and wailing banshees.I suppose it's needless for me to point out that OUR work isn't likely to be all stardust and rainbows. Truthfully if everything thing WAS all sweetness and saccharine I probably gag reading it anyways *shrug* Don't get me wrong, that has it's place too, and I enjoy it … but only in small doses. Too much "nice" makes me green around the edges.

  7. Mynx November 8, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    >Love the art piece and if I was looking for Disney, I wouldn't be here. That said, I am more than happy to engage in a little self promotion. (I am cheeky that way) I am no artist (wish I was) but if you ever feel that I could add something to your blog, feel free to let me know.

  8. Mrs. Hyde November 8, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    >I'm happy to see that you are excited and creating beauty left and right! That said, I wouldn't go posting that story for NaNoWriMo on here. Your regular followers might love and respect you, but there is always the chance that some asshole with an agent, a publisher, a deadline and no story will happen on here and steal your idea. The story itself might be copyrighted, but you can't copyright ideas. When I read the stories you've created from your heart, I want to see your name next to them.

Comments are closed.