>Finished Art Swap

8 Nov

>For the beginning stages, click here.

Yeah…  Got to this point and was not loving it.  Something was missing…  I tried adding more trees.  Didn’t work.  Had a hissy fit and they entire thing went dark brown.  Shit brown.  Then came the black spray paint…  And blues…  And silver…  And glitter…  And the birds finally made their appearance.  I like it better now than my original vision.

Now we just wait to see who we are sending it to.  I am pleased with how it came about.  I hope whoever receives it is equally happy with it.  The photos don’t really do the 3D aspect of it or the multicoloured clouds justice, but you get the idea…  The tree and clay birds all stand off from the canvas and the clouds are actually metallic blue and silver with different rays of coloured glitter worked through the paint.  Feels good to have it done.

UPDATE:

Here’s a couple more shots I took outside.  Can better see the definition of the piece.  Click for larger view.

12 Responses to “>Finished Art Swap”

  1. SY November 8, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    >this is very cool. Creativity has a mind of it's on.. vision can just get in the way sometimes

  2. Kate November 8, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    >I love it! It may be due to the camera flash, but I get the impression of the tree and birds having been sitting in the still dark night, before being intruded upon by some vehicle, the unearthly headlights illuminating and exposing what had been so natural.The colours, the texture, everything, just pieces together to make it beautifully haunting.Kate x

  3. Mustang Sally November 8, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    >I really like this, the finished product and the whole 3D concept. I'm really fascinated by the tree and the way it appears to grow out of the canvas. I might have to try something like that one of these days. Very cool.

  4. AmberLaShell November 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    >wow that is awesome! I love the dark creepy feel about it.. I would proudly hang that on my wall, great job!amberlashell.com

  5. Marlene November 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    >Who knew you could write, bitch, moan, groan, AND create art?!!! You're so multi-faceted!

  6. Lynne H. November 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    >OH My.. that is really beautiful.. Well whoever the lucky recipient is, they will adore it..Damn dude..you are creative.. I'm still drawing stick people with circles for mouths!!!

  7. Call Me Cate November 8, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    >Wow, I like it a lot! The red and orange background was really nice but the background on the finished version is so layered and awesome. very nice work!

  8. The Empress November 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    >The piece turned out really great. The background evokes a lot of emotion. Nice work!

  9. Jumble Mash November 8, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    >Wow! It turned out great!! I, too, like it better with the blacks/blues/glitter! Great job!

  10. mice_aliling November 9, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    >Wow, I am impressed! Love mixed media 🙂

  11. hevghirl@hotmail.com November 24, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    >I love it, I love it, I love it, I love it! I'm the lucky recipient! Hugs to you for my beautiful gift! H xxx

  12. mel November 25, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    >holy shit…whaddya know?! rofl….it's BRILLIANT!! I love it…who do i have to scrap to get my hands on it? lucky bastard…lol. ah, that song. carried me through more times than i could ever tell…..you have NO idea what you just did for me in your de-lurk….thank you. truly.xo

Comments are closed.