>The Circus is Coming to Town… Slowly.

27 Oct

>

Had my quasi monthly appointment with Dr. Dodo today.  Miraculously we got in and out in under two hours today – including actual appointment, bloodwork, and picking up scrips.  Usually we wait at least two hours.  Things seem to be moving along as they should.  The doc was pleased with my progress.  I have shingles – which is actually a good sign – but a total, utter, living nightmare.  But it’s a positive.  Peaks and valleys and other such horseshit.  My body is starting to heal enough that it is now trying to combat all the little bugs and quirks that it was too weak to address before.  
I am healing.  
I gained a better understanding of how this all works today.  It’s not just like having a cold and taking a slug of goo and cold begone.  My body and immune system was so far gone by the time the HIV was even detected – my CD4s (T-Cells) were at 43, my viral load was around 115,000.  Normal people’s levels are an average of 700 to 1,500 for CD4s and an undetectable viral load.  So, essentially, I was damned near dead.  So it’s going to take time.  Doc quoted me a good five years before I feel a good 100%.  The pain and drain is normal.  Some of it is the side effects from the medication, some of it is simply the disease.  
But I am on the right path and moving in the right direction.  It’s a hopeful prognosis.  I only had bloodwork today so I don’t know my new counts yet, she is to call me with those when they come in – probably middle of next weekish.  So we’ll see where I stand then.  I don’t really know how I feel about it all.  I should be hopeful, but I feel discouraged.
I could help but to remark at the irony though.  Once upon a time they gave you “Five Years” to die.  I now have five years to live.  
It’s going to be one HELL of a 40th birthday party.  
Someone hire me a fucking circus.
24 Responses to “>The Circus is Coming to Town… Slowly.”

  1. Bukowski's Basement October 27, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    >Dude… Glad to hear things are looking up for you. That sounds like you have a pretty good prognosis… Start planning that party!!

  2. Marlene October 27, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    >Not sure why having shingles is a good sign….maybe you could explain that to the ignoramus. ;)I think this is definitely a step in the right direction….I keep you in my thoughts and prayers always….and hell, I hope you have great 50th, 60th and 70th birthday parties!

  3. Rabbit October 27, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    >It's good because my body is actually reacting to things again, rather than just being run down and sick. It's forcing the infections to the surface in an effort to get rid of them.

  4. Miss Nikki October 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    >Can I bring the clowns? I know the best in the business… I could probably find acrobats, at least really really good gymnasts. Glad to hear there is a positive to, uhm, your being positive. (sorry,bad joke)

  5. Nubian October 27, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    >Happy for you because you are feeling a titch better, sad about the shingles. So when can we book your ticket to Oregon? ;~)

  6. The Empress October 28, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    >That is really wonderful news. I'm so happy for you my friend. And yes, it will be one hell of a 40th for sure. We will hire you a f*cking circus, humping monkeys, show girls, or whatever you want! Much love to you Rabbit!! xo

  7. Mrs. Hyde October 28, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    >"I am healing." Best news I've heard all week! In 5 years my youngest will be 14 and not wanting anything to do with me. I'll be the first bitch to arrive to the party and the last one to leave. For circus entertainment, I think we should hire that guy whose talent is wrapping his dick around his leg two times.I totally just made that up, but it was a nice visual, no? I'm a size queen, what can I say?Good job telling AIDS to go fuck itself!

  8. Mynx October 28, 2010 at 2:51 am #

    >Brilliant news. Can I come to the party? I make great desserts.

  9. mice_aliling October 28, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    >Glad to hear the wonderful news 🙂 Hope to hear better news and more shingles( do you ever get more shingles?) 😛

  10. Nicki October 28, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    >I have been waiting for years to see Octopussy's Circus come to town.This is great news. Nowhere to go but up, right?

  11. Lynne H. October 28, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    >That is actually great news.. and for that circus birthday party, I will even ride bareback on that white stallion.. just for you!!! 🙂

  12. FreeFlying October 28, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    >You're on the upswing. Hooray! I'm sorry that it has to be such a slow and painful process, but I was a little worried that you would get too sick and tired to write. And where would that leave me? What? It's not about me? Dammit. Missed the mark again. (Btw, I like the cleanness of your new look, but I miss the little legless rabbit wandering off into the great unknown. I always checked to see if he'd made it any farther away.)

  13. Georgina Dollface October 28, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    >Can I lead the circus parade down Main Street? PLEEEEEZ!?! I have my own baton and cape.I'm glad things are sounding a bit more positive and hopeful. – G

  14. Toni October 28, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    >I'll be patiently awaiting my invite to the circus party. Let me know what I should bring! Seriously though, I'm glad you're doing better, even if it doesn't seem like it.

  15. Laugh. It's Life in Progress October 28, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    >I think we can manage the circus for you Rabbit… YAY on the shingles, even though they suck ass. It's good that your body is reacting, even though it doesn't help feeling like shit. I'm thinking one big fucking party in 5 years is a GREAT damn idea. Count me in :o)

  16. Rabbit October 28, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    >For the record, you are ALL invited. And you damned well better show up with bells on!Thanks for all the support and feedback over the last few days. It's been a rough go of it lately and I appreciate every one of you that takes the time to leave a word or two. Many, many thanks.

  17. Raven of the Green Mountains October 28, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    >This IS good news! *does the happy dance*

  18. Kenn Chalin October 28, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    >Ugh…Michael I feel for you having shingles. I've had those lousy visitors twice – the first the was in high school (hmm…stress maybe?) and then again about 18 months ago. Hope you've got some witches' remedies for them!

  19. becca October 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    >wow that is awesome news that you are doing better. hugs.

  20. Uninspired Blogger October 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    >Oooo….Ooooo let me be the clown! Let me be the clown! I'm glad to hear you're healing, great news! Good luck with everything, you can pull through…Just keep the faith.

  21. Jhon Baker October 28, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    >circus you say? I'll be there! Glad to hear an uplifting prognosis – I understand the discouragement, it's a normal reaction to said news. Fancy that, you may well have normalcy in you yet.

  22. Vencora October 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    >glad your condition is improving. hopefully you'll find some good ways to make the time fly. you're such a strong creature.

  23. Pat Tillett October 29, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    >It's nice to get some good news! Happy for you!I'll be there, with bells a clanging…

  24. gayle October 30, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    >I am always so behind:( I am so glad that things are getting better for you!!

Comments are closed.