popcorn

22 Oct

why can’t it be cancer
at least then
they could stick me
in the microwave
with the popcorn
and maybe
i’d be well
instead
vampires rape
and pillage my
blood
turning me upon myself
stealing years
and movements
moments and opuses
leaving my legacy
shriveled
like a spent dick

© 2010 | Micael Chadwick

[Inspired by one of my favourite poets, Jhon Baker]

15 Responses to “popcorn”

  1. Nicki October 22, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    >Powerful.

  2. FreeFlying October 22, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    >Wow. I feel like you literally just twisted my heart.

  3. The Empress October 22, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    >I second FreeFlying's sentiment. Wow.xo

  4. Simple Dude October 22, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    >I love the way your thoughts translate so well to words on the page (screen) for all of us to read. Keep it up and stay strong. Throwing some B.O.N. love your way in my latest post.SDhttp://simpledudecomplexworld.blogspot.com/

  5. Marlene October 22, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    >Hugs. Cancer is evil, too…but I know what you're saying. Sorry I haven't been around much lately….been sick with a nasty cold and have been trying to get to as many blogs as I can, but I know I missed yours. 😦 Forgive me?

  6. Lolamouse October 22, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    >be careful what you wish for, sweetie. chronic illness sucks, no matter what it is. I hope you kick your illness's ass and thank you again for sharing your life with all of us. If I knew where you were, I'd bring you a bowl of homemade chicken soup (Jewish penicillin, better than any drugs!)

  7. Jane October 22, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    >Holy shit, this is a good one today. I can never get enough of your poetry.

  8. Rabbit ツ October 22, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    >Thanks everyone. Another one that seems to have hit a nerve that I didn't expect to.I wouldn't wish cancer upon anyone. What I was saying is that at least with cancer – unlike AIDS – there is the option of trying to fry that shit into remission, whereas now, I don't have that luxury. Whatever…

  9. Miss Nikki October 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    >Touching Rabbit. I like your style. and like you say, "whatever…"

  10. Lynne H. October 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    >Jhon will be proud..I wish all you had was a bad scrape..but since you don't we just gonna have to whip it's ass…deal?

  11. Pat Tillett October 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    >This was a friggin powerful poem. Just keep up the good fight!You know I've had a battle with Big Mr. C myself this past couple of years. In my case they at least had a proven game plan to deal with it. So I TOTALLY understand what you mean and why you say it. No offense taken my friend!

  12. holly October 23, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    >I got what you were saying w/o taking it the wrong way. My mom has bladder cancer and said, "why couldn't it be breast cancer? Then the could just slice my tits off." Well, I'm pretty sure she doesn't say "tits" but you get the idea.

  13. Jhon Baker October 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    >I am proud – I am glad to have inspired such a great write.

  14. The Absence of Alternatives October 26, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    >I read your posts in my inbox. The reason why it took me so long to come here and leave a comment is because I did not know what else to say. It moved me.

  15. jhon baker July 8, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I love what you’ve done with the inspiration – only one quick bitch – my name is spelled – Jhon…

Comments are closed.