>And so it begins…

18 Oct

>Finally started my piece for this fall’s Art Swap.  I was hesitant to sign up because I had been so blocked creatively but ultimately decided to do it.  Figured if I signed up and there was no backing out then I would be forced to create something – be it good, bad or indifferent.  Turns out it’s been a good thing.

I got inspired by Bob Marley’s song Three Little Birds:

Rise up this mornin’,
Smiled with the risin’ sun,
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true,
Sayin’, “This is my message to you…”

Singin’, “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.”
Singin’, “Don’t worry ’bout a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right!”

This was kind of my theme song while I was in the hospital this summer for so long.  It kind of carried me through.  And it took off from there.

At this point, I still didn’t know what the hell I was going to do.  But I gessoed the canvas and let it mock me.  (And I need to fix the date on my camera!)

Then the song started in my head and wouldn’t go away…

Rise up this mornin’…  Smiled with the risin’ sun…

Still working on the tree and have to actually attach it to the canvas – but you get the idea.  Have the birds to make as well.  I think they will be bright blue.  Should really pop against the orange.  Plan on working on the tree today as we have no water (Grrr!) and I can’t do laundry or dishes or mop…  Will give me something to do.  Get the tree on and get it painted and then build the birds and let them dry.  And I really hate the colour Burnt Ochre – I think because it mind me of okra, which I am not wildly fond of.
Anyway, there’s my Art Swap thus far…  More to come.  Thank God it’s Monday.  I don’t think I could have handled much more this weekend!
Oh, and here is my King of the Ya-Yas supervising from high atop his perch:
17 Responses to “>And so it begins…”

  1. Vencora October 18, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    >hooray for artwork inspired by songs! it's going to be lovely. ^_^

  2. Caren Gittleman October 18, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    >I love Bob Marley and I also love that you were inspired to do your art work. You are one talented guy! Can't wait to see the finished product.

  3. Jumble Mash October 18, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    >Woo! I can't wait to see the finished product!

  4. Georgina Dollface October 18, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    >My little dachshund Max used to look just like that when he slept! So cute! I'm looking forward to seeing how your art piece turns out. I love the colours you've got on there so far. – G

  5. Pat Tillett October 18, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    >I have not a single talented bone in my body relating to that type of art. Obviously you do!Keep us posted!oh yeah, yet again another beautiful blog header and template.

  6. FreeFlying October 18, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    >I adore things with strong colors. On a side note, I tried to paint ONE TIME. Just once. And halfway through I realized that I was copying the painting of the vase on the wall in "Frasier." Yes, the t.v. show. Like, exactly. Sooo depressing. http://operatingonrandom.blogspot.com

  7. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 18, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    >Thank you thank you, everyone. It's terribly exciting to feel my artist dancing again. There used to be not a day that passed that I didn't create something. It's been a long time coming for it's return. Glad I have this medium to be able to share the process with y'all. Thanks so much for all the support and feedback.

  8. Kate October 18, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    >I do admire your artistic skills! I'm also rather excited about it being 2007 again… =pKate x

  9. Nariane October 18, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    >Huzzahs for the return of the muses. Dock their pay for having spent to long meandering elsewhere and not home working.iz totally ded from teh cute of goggie picture. 😀

  10. Nubian October 18, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    >That Mr. Winston sure does creep up and find a place in one's heart.Looking forward to the finished piece.

  11. becca October 18, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    >i like art to bad i can only finger paint and draw stick people. i'm excited to see your completed work.

  12. The Empress October 18, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    >I like where this art piece is heading. Very inspiring …maybe I will pick up my paint brushes that have been abandoned for several months now. Happy Monday Rabbit! XOhttp://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  13. The Absence of Alternatives October 18, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    >I am going to piss you off because I am right now absolutely distracted by the fact that you make your bed. Sorry. Daughter of a hotel maid. I pay attention to these details…

  14. Jhon Baker October 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    >Do you paint on the floor? I've always painted wiht the canvass on the floor – usually large but even book covers (I was into defacing bad books with good art for awhile).

  15. Elly Lou October 18, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    >That's the perfect hospital theme song ever. I played it non-stop and it still makes me hopeful.

  16. Raven of the Green Mountains October 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    >So happy for you that the muse has returned. 🙂

  17. Lynne H. October 18, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    >First let me comment on the bed.. Did you get that from a Gabor sister..it's deliciously beautiful..Ok,onto the art.. I love it..I wish I were artistically inclined around paint, but mine resembles Jackson Pollacks pieces.. (hey wait, he was rich huh?)Can't wait to see the finished piece:-)

Comments are closed.