>Rabbit Drabble: Welcome to the Big Apple

17 Oct

>

[I ran away to NYC with a childhood friend as a teenager. We’d only gotten off the bus a few hours prior and were wandering haphazardly about the city. This was one of our first, real NYC experiences when we found ourselves lost in the Wall Street district.]
I saw him coming, dressed head to toe – literally – entirely in sequins. He stood out, brilliantly, in the sea of Yuppie Larva and Wall Street Wannabes. He ebbed through the midday current, suddenly lunging at two super-coiffed, well-to-do 20 something girls.
He bellowed:
“SHOW ME YOU’RE SCARED!”
They screamed and flustered and an exclaimed: “I feel so violated!” 
And he was gone. His duty was done. We laughed hysterically.
We weren’t in Texas anymore.
Little did we know that “show me you’re scared” and “I feel so violated” would become the theme of our entire New York City experience.
7 Responses to “>Rabbit Drabble: Welcome to the Big Apple”

  1. Georgina Dollface October 17, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    >For some reason, I'm picturing Chiwetel Ejiofor from the movie "Kinky Boots" when I read this. And "Yuppie larva"? Best metaphor ever for the NY 20something set. I'm quite excited seeing the "rabbitdrabble" logo because it sounds looks like you will be doing more of these! **does happy dance** – G

  2. Raven of the Green Mountains October 17, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    >I can relate to this. Oh how I can relate to this. 🙂

  3. Vencora October 17, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    >we should all get together and make us a big ole' book-o-drabbles.

  4. Miss Nikki October 17, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    >I feel violated! I do. I'm not just repeating what you wrote, I wanted more of that NYC runaway story. Sounds like it was a good experience (now that it's far far away)

  5. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 17, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    >The guy looked less Kinky Bootsy than you'd expect. I wish he would have been that glamorous. He was actually this short, thick black man with a grey disarrayed ZZtop beard. It was so bizarre…And I think there are more of these to come. It was certainly an experience. Learned a lot. Lost a lot. But there are definitely plenty of stories… Like running away – litterally hauling ass – from the police for shoplifting… Waking up in a Newark motel bathroom with Psycho Joe beating on the door… PLENTY of stories… And I was not even 17. Then there's New Orleans…

  6. Laugh. It's Life in Progress October 18, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    >This is great Rabbit! Can't wait to hear more of your adventures, Thanks for sharing!

  7. The Absence of Alternatives October 18, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    >This post is short yet sweet. Maybe sweet is not the right word, but you know what I mean. Punchy? Maybe punchy is a better word. Goddamnit. I like it. Ok? I like it a lot. -The end-

Comments are closed.