>Fellow Traveler (not a fellow)

17 Oct

>

my vagabond has broken
retreated into her vardo
and closed the door
i don’t know the damage
nor have i a cure
i just stand and wait
helpless
in my field of blues
hoping my train song
and my umbrella
reaches her spirit
mends the splintered
hides the rain
and lights a candle
in her quiet

© 2010, Micael Chadwick

Thinking of you, love.  I hope you heal quickly.


[UPDATE: I also submitted this over at Magpie Tales (Mag 36).  The photo/inspiration there could so be looking out of the open door of a vardo.  How fitting.]

15 Responses to “>Fellow Traveler (not a fellow)”

  1. Nubian October 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    >:`(

  2. Miss Nikki October 17, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    >That's sweet! What a good friend you are. I wish I had friends writing poems for my broken heart (only it's not broken right now, but it has been, years ago…) Nice sweet words…

  3. Lynne H. October 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    >and the fellow traveler smiles at the words from a wonderful friend who lives in the place of blue flowers.. thank you…i needed this tremendously today…it's just beautiful..lynnie

  4. Lolamouse October 17, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    >That was beautiful! I wish everyone could have a friend like you. Your writing is gets past the intellect and into the heart.

  5. Cinderita October 17, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    >You are good people.

  6. Mrs. Hyde October 17, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    >Lovelier words were never written…here come the tears again. You have such a big, beautiful heart. xoxo

  7. Laugh. It's Life in Progress October 18, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    >Amazing…The best thing I've read in a great while.

  8. Pat Tillett October 18, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    >I thought you were blocked! This is amazing! very thoughtful…

  9. Lena October 18, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    >What a wonderful piece. I'll look forward to your future 'pies….!

  10. Leo October 18, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    >lovely Magpie.. a thoughtful piece for sureMine is HERE

  11. becca October 18, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    >Hugs to you and your friend and sending love and support your way.

  12. The Absence of Alternatives October 18, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    >I believe that one of the greatest blessings in life is to have loving and loyal friends. You don't need many. Most of the time, it takes just one to make your life a wonderful journey. You are that kind of friend to her. You are both blessed.

  13. Rene/ Not The Rockefellers October 18, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    >a true steadfast friend…gorgeous

  14. willow October 19, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    >Beautiful. She's lucky to have your umbrella. You had me with the gypsy cart.

  15. joanny October 19, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    >Kindness and compassion for a friend, a beautiful magpie holding the door open for her to come take shelter or leave her broken heart behind and walk away under your umbrella and wipe away the tears.Lovely read,joannyhttp://thedowsersdaughter.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.