>Rabbit Drabble: The Dance

14 Oct

>[A Drabble is a story told in exactly one hundred words. Thanks, Georgina, for the idea.]

“I’m no author…”
The typewriter clattered its laughter, mocking her. She watched her words spill out across the page and into the floor… Metaphor and memory crumpled about her feet. 
“Who the fuck reads memoirs anyway?”
She paced in a noxious swirl of amber liquor and stale smoke to the chick-chick-chick sound of her lighter, marking time like a metronome. The whiskey spilled. She held the flame to the puddle until it ignited.
The flames danced. The flames spread. Her heartbreak and disappointment tangoed across the floor sweeping up all in its path in a lover’s burning embrace.
The firemen had no idea.
© 2010, Micael Chadwick

16 Responses to “>Rabbit Drabble: The Dance”

  1. Kate October 14, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    >I love this. Fire holds this beautiful appeal to me. Fire and love go hand in hand.Kate x

  2. Miss Nikki October 14, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    >How daring, a whiskey drinking woman… Playing with fire… Very daring indeed! Great story.

  3. Nubian October 14, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    >So what was that bitch the other day about not being able to write? If I had a left testicle I would give it in order to write like you do. I think Pat also offered his the other day, maybe I can have his other one?

  4. Rabbit (Micael Chadwick) October 14, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    >Thanks y'all. I think the reason I enjoy this exercise, if you wiil, so much is the challenge of trying to get enough of a story into exactly 100 words. I can't tell you how many edits this one went through to get there. Expect more of these. I rather like them.

  5. Raven of the Green Mountains October 14, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    >Very nice.

  6. The Empress October 14, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    >I'm in awe of your writing. Very nice drabble.Have a great day! xohttp://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  7. Pat Tillett October 14, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    >That was really good! "Her heartbreak and disappointment tangoed across the floor…" What an amazing line!Nubian…sorry! I gotta keep one of them…

  8. Mrs. Hyde October 14, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    >Wow! That was awesome! You said so much in only 100 words. I'll have to try this myself. Thanks for the idea!

  9. becca October 14, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    >nice 🙂

  10. Jhon Baker October 14, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    >nicely done.

  11. Bukowski's Basement October 14, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    >This is awesome… You should really get in on the #fridayflash. This is perfect. since you are on Twitter, retweet this and put #fridayflash in the tweet with the link to this. They'd love it.

  12. Pamila Payne October 15, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    >Snappy and spooky at the same time. Lots of great lines for such a small bite.

  13. Lynne H. October 15, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    >Now this is really good.. I do believe you have found a nice writing niche.. and once again, Pat took my favorite line..wow Rabbit, very nice….love this in fact..

  14. The Barreness October 15, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    >Extraordinary.Damn you.- B x

  15. mice_aliling October 15, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    >Wow. That was crisp. It's the first time I've heard of a drabble. It reminded me of a book I read during my uni years…World's shortest stories…or something like that.

  16. Georgina Dollface October 16, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    >I'm in awe of your writing, I have been since day one. You really are gifted with an amazing voice. I don't say that to just anyone, so I really mean it. I agree with one of the other comments that this could be a very good niche for your writing. – G

Comments are closed.