unwanted

9 Sep
the honeymoon’s over
the dance has begun
broken footed
on a field
of familiar and forewarned
eggshells
as far as the eye can see
he strips naked 
weary
discarding baggage
and guilt
obligations that are not
his to oblige
his sword his only
possession
cutting strings
and ties
carving through the bullshit
that he was advised against
not surprised this time
but ill; weak
and disappointed
that nothing really changes
reserving his strength 
for his own battle
not wishing to sink anyone’s
battleship
any longer
longing only to survive 
another unwanted day
© Rabbit
9 Responses to “unwanted”

  1. Toni September 9, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    sigh…I miss you and I feel like donkey shit. I know that has nothing to do with your post but I am being a needy bitch.

  2. Lynne September 9, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    double sigh** it's been one of those weeks for me too.. but know this we are all in this quagmire with ya..
    you will rise..

    by the way–you are one helluva poet…

  3. ~L September 9, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    so deep, meaningful, light and dark, breathless, wanting, and a little bit of “shit, I wish I could write poetry like yours.”

    love always,
    in eggshell or ecru,
    with blunted sword pointed at the fields of BS,
    your sticker soldier,
    ~L

  4. Annah September 9, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    I loved this 🙂 And I am usually NOT into poetry *XoXo*

  5. Marlene September 10, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I am going to be honest with you…..

    I often don't “get” poetry.

    Having gotten to know you a little bit over the past few weeks, though….I think I “get” yours.

    Hang in there. Always sending positive thoughts your way. Always.

  6. mice_aliling September 10, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    You're a toughie! Stay strong! I love your poetry.

  7. Hills September 13, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Beautiful. As always.

    X

  8. Jane September 14, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    I've missed coming around here to read your incredible words. Life has been a bit crazy but I'm making it a point now to get back to my regular visit.

    xoxo
    Jane

  9. Nariane September 14, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    *hugs you whether you want a hug or not*

Comments are closed.