My Cocktail is Shaken (and Stirred)

25 Aug
Bit of an update.   Had a vampire appointment today.  After the hour long car ride and sitting and waiting for literally and hour and 45 minutes…  Finally saw the doctors.  My CD4s (“T-Cells”) are up from 43 at last reading to 252 now.  I have gained back around 24 lbs.  From 120ish to 144 today.  They think that the pain, petechia is due to one of my ARVs causing muscular myopathy, so I am to stop that one and start taking two others tomorrow.  Lose one, gain two.  But I only have to take these once a day so I guess it balances out.
My mother is pleased with the results and positive that the new regime will work and we’ll be shitting hard candies and happiness soon.  I am afraid to even get my hopes up.  We’ll try it.  We’ll see.  But I am pleased that the CD4s are, at least, rising.  We were going to have a serious talk about treatment if such were not the case today.  With all these meds I have had the worst month I can remember in a long, long time.  At least before all this I occasionally had ‘good days.’  I can’t tell you when I last had a ‘good day.’  Just have to see what happens with these new drugs.  I dunno…  I would like to be hopeful – but skeptical cynicism is all I can seem to muster just yet.
Count Docula wants me back up there again tomorrow for more labs (bloodwork) but – and I know this is going to surprise the hair right off your overgrown Brazilian – there is a fuck up with the Business Office yet again so Receptionist the Snatch is unable to actually schedule ANYthing until that is resolved.  They are saying I was there on August 9th (I wasn’t) and didn’t provide proof on income (there is no income to prove).  So that’s gotta be dealt with too before anything else happens…  
I once made the joke while hosting a drag show that a bitch should be able to live on cocktails.  This was so not what I had in mind.  I much prefer a very dry martini.  Shaken of course.
10 Responses to “My Cocktail is Shaken (and Stirred)”

  1. Charles August 26, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    Sorry you're havin' a fuck of a time man. I'm honored to be privy to your anger/joy/pain/whatever, though, as you put it down here. Does it help?

    Does my ability to extract some kind of fulfillment from your poetic yet tortured prose make me the worst kind of person?

    Stay around and write for two months longer than that bitch god wants you on this earth. Promise us that.

  2. The Empress August 26, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    I'm glad your CD4's and your weight are back up. Please know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. I know for a fact that all kinds of miracles can happen in this crazy world and when given the choice, always opt for hopeful.
    Big hugs and lots of love, The Empress

    PS: And I second Charles' last sentiment!

  3. Hills August 26, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Well, swee one, I'm an athiest and a similarly cynicaL b*tch, so I'm not sure how comforting I can be. But I will say this –

    I think you're brilliant, and I look forward to coming here every day.

    Your test results were brilliant and the weight gain is good news. Celebrating small victories doesn't mean giving yourself false hope and doesn't require a fear of disappointment.

    But if you can't bring yourself to celebrate, I hope you at least recognise that there's a whole load of us who are thinking of you and who love you in our own ways.

    Creepy, really, as we're mostly all strangers. But also kinda hot.

    😉

    Much love, Rabbit.

    – B x

  4. Lynne August 26, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    Warrior Man–I came back to otwn to read this and what great news..
    I know it's been a helluva month, but by the looks of your lab results, well dahling, the sky's the limit now!!!
    Going to keep sending that good vibe your way..love ya!!!

  5. Marlene August 26, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    How about some positive thoughts from me? 🙂 Wishing you well, and hoping this new drug regime works it's magic so you can feel human again.

  6. Toni August 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Can I just say…I told you so 😉

  7. Bukowski's Basement August 28, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Here's hoping your good days continue…

  8. ~L August 28, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    can I get an AMEN?
    receptionist the snatch and count docula better look out, cuz MC Rabbit's on the mend and he's armed with demon milk duds!

  9. Mainland Streel August 29, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    “I know this is going to surprise the hair right off your overgrown Brazilian” You really have a way with words, dear Rabbit. This made me smile. 🙂

    What didn't make me smile was all this business of needles and such… I'm sorry! 😦

  10. gayle August 29, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Wonderful!! Yea!! to the counts going up and the weight gain! Prayers for you!

Comments are closed.