This one doesn’t say Fuck (nevermind, it does actually)

23 Aug

I tripped over the basset
screaming bloody murder
Beethoven’s 9th blaring
so loudly it rattles the walls
dollar store rabbits
falling from shelves
and dogs howling
in fear
in joy
in unison
feet in such pain
it hurts to walk
so I stomp and
I stomp and
I dance
flailing like the madman
free of his jacket
padded walls
and restrictions
be damned
dancing
’til the tears come
the hysteria
laughter
the breakdown
bellowing my
self-inflicted
injustices
to a cacophonic
soundtrack
of violins
and violence
pill bottles bouncing
off walls in a confetti
of fuck ups
and too late nows

dance with me?

© 2010, Micael Chadwick

13 Responses to “This one doesn’t say Fuck (nevermind, it does actually)”

  1. G.D. August 23, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    I will dance with you. And I will remind myself when I am mad, that if I am going to stomp, I might as well just dance. It takes the same amount of energy but I'll feel better afterwards. This poem reminded me of the dance that Billy Elliot did when he was mad and angry at his Dad. Actually, there was a lot about that kid's character that reminded me of you when I watched it a few weeks ago. I've been meaning to tell you that. I smiled through the whole movie (and cried too). – G

  2. ~L August 23, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    don't mind if I do…dancing, screaming, flailing, bellowing, laughing…with you always. thanks, very needed this morning.
    love and peace MC.

  3. Jane August 23, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    Wonderful post. I'd dance with you any day of the week! Happy Monday :))

  4. Pat Tillett August 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Great writing, I'm right there with you…
    I used to go to an anger management therapist who had a soudproof and padded “freak out” room in her house. there were baseball bats, clubs, and lots of things to hit with them. I spend serveral sessions in that room “dancing,” with baseball bat in hand…

  5. Bukowski's Basement August 23, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    We all need moments like this, Micael… Nice piece.

  6. Vencora August 23, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    your title had me laughing, and the writing was incredible.

  7. Ca88andra August 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Thats got some rhythm! Dancing rhythm!

  8. Mystz August 23, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Anytime Dahlin..anytime!! Now,..if I can scoop up some confetti for my foot, the dancing would be pain free psychedelic prancing! ;-))

  9. MicaelChadwick.com August 24, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Thanks everyone. That was the beginning of my day yesterday – ending with Winston hurting his leg somehow. Talk about a Monday.

  10. Ashley King August 24, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    holy geeeeeez!!!! that was amazing!!! i could picture it all so well!!!! seriously… whether it was the intended imagery or not, it was amazingly precise!!!!

  11. Kate August 24, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Yes, I will dance with you! 🙂

    I love how reading this I just got faster and faster till the words were flying at me, chaotic and frightening.

    Kate x

  12. Midwestern Mama Holly December 14, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I'll put on my red shoes and we'll dance the blues.. any day of the week and twice on Sunday.

  13. Laugh. It's Life in Progress December 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    I will surely dance with you Rabbit! Any day and time.

Comments are closed.